Redcat Racing Support Moderated Support Forum for all Redcat Racing Cars, Trucks & Buggies

Volcano S30...Rear drive shaft

Reply
Old 10-20-2009, 02:32 PM
  #1
delorean123
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: hamilton, ON, CANADA
Posts: 69
Default Volcano S30...Rear drive shaft

Hey guys...Need a little info...I just bought new rear drive shafts..(From centre to rear diff shaft)..as well as new grub screws...because the OEM wiggled loose and fell out.....So..I might just need to replace grub screw..??..Not to sure...But if I do have to change the shaft...any easy way of doing it..??...I can't stand having only 2WD..(Especially front wheel drive)....Help..
delorean123 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2009, 09:48 PM
  #2
Mickstix
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Debary, FL
Posts: 700
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Volcano S30...Rear drive shaft

Should be able to just remove the 4 screws holding the transmission (center diff) in, and it'll let ya raise it up and slip the dogbone/shaft in.. (also dont forget to add the "o" rings in the drive cups, (if yours had them before) before putting the bones in.. If ya dont have o rings, a tiny piece of fuel line can be used instead.. (Thats how it's done on a Tornado.. So, Im assuming it's similar on the Volcano.)
Mickstix is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2009, 10:51 AM
  #3
robriley
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: bloomington, IN
Posts: 227
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Volcano S30...Rear drive shaft

it's not easy to get the rear driveshaft back in without having the front one fall out. I used a pair of needle nose pliers, a magnet and some very steady hands. loosen the transmission enough so that you can raise it up like mickstix said. There isn't much wiggle room for the shafts and it might take a couple of tries to get the rear one in without the front one falling out.

but if the grub screws fell out, you may to pull the transmission out. the transmission shaft has a flat spot on it, and you will need to align the stub so that the grub screw is in contact with the flat spot on the transmission shaft. make sure you use blue locktite on the grub screws. If your original rear driveshaft is still in place, there really is no need to replace it unless it's bent or broken. you will need to remove it to get the grub screws back in tho.
robriley is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2009, 11:20 AM
  #4
delorean123
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: hamilton, ON, CANADA
Posts: 69
Default RE: Volcano S30...Rear drive shaft

Thanks for all the ideas..I got it out....Now I gotta get it re-aligned.....these trucks can't really take a beating I find eh...Not like my Tamiya..!!
delorean123 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2009, 03:36 PM
  #5
chevyderek72
 
chevyderek72's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Mesa, AZ
Posts: 1,784
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Volcano S30...Rear drive shaft

Mine takes all the beating i dish out, with a breakage here and there of course.
chevyderek72 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2009, 04:22 PM
  #6
delorean123
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: hamilton, ON, CANADA
Posts: 69
Default RE: Volcano S30...Rear drive shaft

Well....Mines not holding up that well...and what pisses me right off is that I didn't listen to any of the negative reviews regarding Redcat...and now I'm starting to regret it...It's never even been off road...It's a street truck.....It's like 3 weeks old and I have only driven it like two/three times..!!
The carb is super hard to get just right...The gear meshing thing is balls.....My steering servo was shot right outta the box...The on/off switch lasted a day.....My front shock fell apart....
Like seriously.....I own a Tamiya TNX 5.2R..and it was a RTR truck...there was no gear meshing involved,,no fine tuning the carb..the servo is a super high speed servo,(Factory installed)..and the price wasn't all that different......I gave RedCat a chance to redeem themselves...They sent a new servo and are in the process of sending a new on/off switch...But here in Canada..there are very few dealers...So I'm stuck waiting weeks for parts......It's not really fair to the consumer if ya ask me....
Any ideas...??
delorean123 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2009, 04:49 PM
  #7
chevyderek72
 
chevyderek72's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Mesa, AZ
Posts: 1,784
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Volcano S30...Rear drive shaft

There is no such thing ever as no fine tuning a nitro motor. Every rc motor needs tuning, even gassers. You cant run break in settings on a broke in motor, it wont have power. You must have gotten a lemon, ive had very few problems with all my redcats, and ive had quite a few. For a long while i was buying and selling em like crazy after driving them. And they all were great. But this is a hobby, RTR doesnt mean pull outa the box and run. It basically means its put together instead of being in pieces. Ask anybody, there is prep before you run, like making sure mesh is correct and locktiting screws. I had an s30, and that thing was so reliable one of the best rcs ive had. There are a few dealers up in canada you can order from actually, i cant remember his site but his name on here i think is stallone or something, and i think his name is sebastian.
chevyderek72 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2009, 12:02 AM
  #8
Mickstix
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Debary, FL
Posts: 700
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Volcano S30...Rear drive shaft

My Tornado S30has had it's share of work done on it too, but once ya get the bugs out they are actually not too bad.. (Althought my transmission is back to not shifting again. lol) But ya definitely need to like working on these things to enjoy the hobby.. Building, rebuilding, and modding them to make em stronger is half the fun! Hope ya get the kinks worked out of yours so you can start to enjoy it, instead of just work on it!! Let us know if we can help!! There's usually a mod/fix for any problem ya enounter!! Good luck!!
Mickstix is offline  
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 04:35 PM.