Community
Search
Notices
Redcat Racing Support Moderated Support Forum for all Redcat Racing Cars, Trucks & Buggies

Redcat Earthquake 3.5 Problems

Search this Thread

Old 12-28-2009, 03:32 PM
hawkycoach

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Redcat Earthquake 3.5 Problems

I am new to nitro and I bought my sona Redcat Earthquake 3.5 4x4 monster truck with an SH .21 motor. It was his Christmas present. Well needless to say it isn't going according to plan. At first it would start but wouldn't stay running without the igniter attached. Ihave put the HSN anywhere between 2.5 and 4.5 turns and the LSN at 2.5 turns. Ihave alsochanged the glow plug. If I can get it started now it on runs a few seconds and shuts off w/igniter attached. It has never run without the igmiter on it. I have blisters and cuts all over my hands but I won't give up till this thing runs. Any help would be greatly appreciated. Also I think my igniter may not be a very good one. It seems you can only use it a few times before it dies and requires a long charge.
Old 12-28-2009, 04:16 PM
sparky 25

Default RE: Redcat Earthquake 3.5 Problems

You should not have to touch the lowend needle at this early stage,

First up you should check your fuel lines for leaks, are there any air bubbles in the fuel lines?

if the fuel lines are alright next thing you need to check is that your glowplug it not needing replaced,

there should be a good glow in the center of the plug with the igniter attached, if this is fine

try resetting the carb back to factory settings which i think may be 3 turns out on both needles,

thats what it was on one of my sh28 engines i use to have,

you also say that it will not run for very long when you manage to get it started,

try opening up the idle if you remove the filter and look into the carb you should see a 1mm gap in the carb,

if you can get it to start at these settings and it will not stay running try leaning out the high speed needle slightly,