Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Cars, Buggies, Trucks, Tanks and more > Redcat Racing Support
Reload this Page >

aftershock/backdraft 8e big dissapointment need help

Notices
Redcat Racing Support Moderated Support Forum for all Redcat Racing Cars, Trucks & Buggies

aftershock/backdraft 8e big dissapointment need help

Old 01-28-2010, 09:13 PM
jbeane316

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default aftershock/backdraft 8e big dissapointment need help

ok, first i want to say ive been racing and building rc cars on and off for 17 years. ive been out of the eletric stuff for a few years,but decided to get back in it.

this is a long read, i apoligize, but i need some advice.

me and my buddy went and bought a couple 8e's he got the truck, i got the buggy. obviously there the same thing, besides the bodys and hubs.

he got his first.

first thing i noticed, is theres a TON of slop in the steering. pretty crappy. being new to the lipos, we put em on the lil crap charger that come with it, and went to get a beer. after getting both batts charged, we took it outside on the flat street in front of his house. he drove it for about a minute. yes 1 min, before really going wideopen, it spun the tires ofcourse, and rolled over. this prolly happend at 5mph. it only rolled once and landed right back on the tires. give it gas and you guessed it the front hub carrier was broke off.

so he ordered 100 bucks worth of the aluminum stuff. put it all back together, took it back out, same flat street. feeling a lil more confident in it, hes a lil more agressive, ran it for about 5-6 mins, still on the first charge,,,, and it slides into some gravel on the edge of the road, and yep you guessed it, the steering arm broke.