Redcat Racing Support Moderated Support Forum for all Redcat Racing Cars, Trucks & Buggies

Lipo batt problem in my Earthquake 8e???

Reply
Old 08-02-2010, 03:23 PM
  #1
formula87
Thread Starter
 
formula87's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: hampton roads, VA
Posts: 781
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Lipo batt problem in my Earthquake 8e???

My 3200mah stock lipos have had about 10-15 charges (6mos old)on them using the stock wall charger and I had a partial charge on them (didn't run all the way down)and came back after about 5 days an one of the lipos just split the case apart and one cell inside is kinda spongy???? anyone else have a prob like this with the stock batterys???
formula87 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2010, 11:43 PM
  #2
hhvg
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: wichita, KS
Posts: 47
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Lipo batt problem in my Earthquake 8e???



Sounds like a unsafe condition to me! A puffed battery is dangerous. Not sure how you condition your packs but you have to be very careful to run both packs fully charged. For example if you had one fully charged pack you can not run it with a 1/2 charged pack. They need to be ran at the same level. Is it possible thats what caused you pack to puff?

hhvg is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2010, 09:30 AM
  #3
formula87
Thread Starter
 
formula87's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: hampton roads, VA
Posts: 781
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Lipo batt problem in my Earthquake 8e???


Quote:
ORIGINAL: hhvg



Sounds like a unsafe condition to me! A puffed battery is dangerous. Not sure how you condition your packs but you have to be very careful to run both packs fully charged. For example if you had one fully charged pack you can not run it with a 1/2 charged pack. They need to be ran at the same level. Is it possible thats what caused you pack to puff?


No both had a full charge and I had run about half of the run time and shut down, only to come back to a busted case and one of the cells was puffed up. Don't know if Redcat can help I had some drivetrain issues and a charger issue and they stepped up so I may drop them a line.
formula87 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2010, 06:40 PM
  #4
hhvg
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: wichita, KS
Posts: 47
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Lipo batt problem in my Earthquake 8e???

The Earthquake 8e stock setup is really beyond its limits in my opinion. It has several things working against it:

1. 3200mah (3.2amp hours) X 20 is only 64 amps. I have not eagle tree'd it yet but Id guess itsaverages at least 80 and peaks maybe 120 onthe stockearthquake.Ive tested several sytems so thats an educated guess. When I get some time Ill teagle tree it with the stock setup and batts. Fix: get higher amp batteries or lower kv motor and read 2. and 3. below.
2. Thestock esc settingfortiming advaceis 15 degrees. Fix: Bump that down to0 degrees.
3. The stock heavy and large diameter tires havea ton of rotating mass and the large diameter is like running a large pinion. Try proline 30 series badlands to remedy this.

The backdraft and aftershock are a lot more friendly on the batteries so after changing the gearing on them I think the stock batts would be fine. The Earthquake already has the smallest gears already I beleive so you have to look for other ways to lower the amps. I will eagle tree all 3 8es in stock form with stock batts when I get a chance
hhvg is offline  
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 11:09 AM.