RCU Forums

RCU Forums (https://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/)
-   Redcat Racing Support (https://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/redcat-racing-support-427/)
-   -   NEW RadCat Racing Earthquake 3.5 engine probem (https://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/redcat-racing-support-427/11517403-new-radcat-racing-earthquake-3-5-engine-probem.html)

flameash 05-20-2013 12:17 PM

NEW RadCat Racing Earthquake 3.5 engine probem

Hello everybody. I just got a brand new Earthquake 3.5 few days ago off eBay. In spite of many negative posts all over internet I decided to go with Red Cat (maybe I shouldn't have). I am complete newbie to Nitro engines and R/C altogether. Anyway, I got my truck out of the box and started to brake-in the engine. Now I've read the manual that comes with it and also watched few videos on the subject, so I started the procedure. Engine started on 4th pull but on 1st tank it wasn't running smoothly. Anyway when it came to the point that I had to fill 2nd tank I needed to go away on urgent business so when I came back it was late at night to continue. Following morning I decided to continue breaking-in procedure but realize that the pull start won't move and engine will not turnover. I mean it feels like it's stuck. Since I am new to all this but good with hands I partially took the engine off and took apart the back plate with pull start.Then I put few drops of after-run oil in the engine to lubricate and after many tries finally turned the crankshaft. When I got it all in one piece again when glow plug in place it's really hard to pull the starter. If I take the plug off after few pulls it seems to be fine. Needless to say that it won't start. First I assumed the there was too much fuel in the engine so I drained excess fuel but it didn't help, even went through few different glow plugs. I don't have a LHS near by so I don't know what to do and who to ask, so I am asking for help here. What should I try next? I am not even sure if it has warranty and anyway I don't want to