RCU Forums

RCU Forums (https://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/)
-   Redcat Racing Support (https://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/redcat-racing-support-427/)
-   -   Redcat Durability (https://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/redcat-racing-support-427/11599887-redcat-durability.html)

Daved912 06-04-2014 04:43 AM

Redcat Durability

It looks like this forum is monitored by Redcat employees, so I wanted to post my experience with the Mirage Pro. I've been running RC cars for about 25 years now, but haven't had time to play since kids came along. I decided to get back in and try brushless and lipos. I've owned Tamiya, Kyosho, Duratrax, Associated, Traxxas, and Nylint. Most of those cars still run. I had read the reviews on the Mirage and understood that it was a bit fragile. At the same time, I noticed they had some V2 parts and it looked like they were trying to improve on their products. My Mirage came with a bad charger, which they made good on. I had a new one within a week. My first run was on the street so I could see how fast the Mirage was. Wow, I couldn't believe how fast such a heavy car could go! My second run was at a baseball field. I was running the bases with it when I hit the grass on a turn and rolled it. It rolled once: tires, roof, tires. I figured I was good to go, but quickly found out something had broken. The upper rear ball stud had ripped out of the rear hub and the linkage. It was gone! I know they don't warranty suspension, but I sent a claim anyway since the car is only a couple weeks old and halfway through its second run. It was turned down. Moral of the story is you get what you pay for. From my experience, this car would be good on a smooth dirt track but will most likely break if rolled or jumped. If this was my first car, I would have been turned off of the hobby completely. I will fix my Mirage, but most likely never buy Redcat again. I think Redcat could make a name for itself if they used a better quality plastic and gave some kind of warranty on the