RCU Forums

RCU Forums (https://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/)
-   Redcat Racing Support (https://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/redcat-racing-support-427/)
-   -   Tornado XP problems (https://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/redcat-racing-support-427/4099355-tornado-xp-problems.html)

yj4x4 03-29-2006 04:39 PM

Tornado XP problems

First off, I've got to say I've been flying r/c planes for years, and r/c helicopters for a few months, so I'm not a newbie to glow engines.
I've got to say I've NEVER had as much trouble breaking in and tuning an engine as I have with this one! It will just NOT run for longer than a few seconds, or else it runs at such a high rpm it would be down the road and crashed before I had a chance to pick up the transmitter. Pull starter has allready broken, and no, not from me yanking it to hard or far. Took the starter apart & fixed it, but frankly, I'm ready to either buy a different engine or toss this thing in the dumpster.

ARRRG!

AJsToyz 03-29-2006 05:13 PM

RE: Tornado XP problems

I had to adjust everything on my carb , low speed , high speed , idle . I even moved one of the stops on the linkage a little to get the idle and brakes how I like them. Mine was so tight when I got it that it siezed up when I started it. I had to remove the head and cycle it with the cylinder loose to get it going. After a few head aches its running really good. Mine does not like low nitro fuel at all. It runs really good off 1/2A fuel - 25% nitro 20% oil. A little messy out the pipe though. I ran some 10% Traxxas today , and what a pig !! You can tune it to idle , rev up , just totally gutless!!

yj4x4 03-30-2006 12:42 PM

You're lucky. I've repeatedly done all that too. So far I've burned 2 tanks of good quality 20% fuel running up to 45 seconds at a time. Also the glow plug that came with it was doa. I figured I'd replace it after break in, but I thought I'd at least be able to run it with the installed plug to begin with.

Popper252 03-30-2006 01:13 PM