RCU Forums

RCU Forums (https://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/)
-   Redcat Racing Support (https://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/redcat-racing-support-427/)
-   -   AFTERSHOCK 8E ~ Newbie ~ New out of box help!! (https://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/redcat-racing-support-427/9932394-aftershock-8e-%7E-newbie-%7E-new-out-box-help.html)

DirtyChevyRC 08-14-2010 02:07 AM

AFTERSHOCK 8E ~ Newbie ~ New out of box help!!

<span style="font-family: Arial;"><span style="font-size: larger;">I will first start off like an AA meeting and say, Hi, my name is Paul, and Im a Newbie....

(Everyone else) Hi Paul!

Okay, down to business. Currently, my Aftershock is on its way from Arizona and I am playing the waiting game until it gets here on Tuesday. Eeeek! Iknow.
Anyways, I posted a thread on BYT and asked for help regarding these, and about my possible options on things to do to her. (Yes, its a her.)

******** ANYREDCATRACINGREPS, START READINGNOW(THANKS)</span></span><span style="font-family: Arial;"><span style="font-size: larger;"> ********</span></span>
<span style="font-family: Arial;"><span style="font-size: larger;">
One reaccuring statement I hear from a few followers is to make sure that I check my gears before running and make sure that they are aligned and don't need to be shimmed.
A few people had this problem and had to shim up their gears.

I am posting this in hopes of getting a little direction on how to know if they need to be shimmed or not, and if so,the process of doing this. Even though I am fairly new to the RCcircuit, and have some knowledge on tearing things apart, I am man enough to admit, that I DONOTknow everything.

So if anyone has any suggestions on how I can determine the quality of the gears, if they need to be shimmed and anything other that they deem necessary before bashing, please let me know.

ALSO!

I would love to hear some ideas for upgrades.Ihave seen a few things and would like some more input. Appreciate any suggestions.