Community
Search
Notices
S.P.A.D. Aircraft - Coroplast design Discuss the growing area of S.P.A.D.S. (Simple Plastic Airplane Designs). Coroplast type aircraft, pizza box planes, etc..

SPAD Building Tips

Search this Thread

Old 11-29-2004, 11:59 PM
-pkh-
My Feedback: (2)

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default SPAD Building Tips

I'm a SPAD newb, but after building two SPADs, I've come up with a few building tips I thought I'd share (I haven't seen them posted elseware)...

1) If you have a hard time getting CA glue to work to glue the wing (like I did), I've found 6 minute epoxy works very well. I rough up the coro with some steel wool and then clean it with some alcohol or mineral spirits.

2) PVC dust is a problem when using a dremmel cutoff tool to trim the fuse. You should wear a mask or respirator to keep from breathing it in while your cutting. A cheap dust mask will work, but those fog up my glasses, so I bought respirator, meant for spraying paint and pesticide, at Home Depot. They come with different filter types filters for different prices. The respirators with the cheapest filters will probably do for PVC dust, but I got the more expensive ones to filter out paint fumes too (for use with my airbrush as well). The other thing I did to help minimize airborn dust while cutting PVC was to make my own air filter out of a 20" box fan and a 3M "Filtrete" air conditioning filter taped to the back of it. I crank the fan up on high, set it right next to where I'm going to cut (filter side towards me) and it sucks most of the fine PVC dust into the filter. I also use this setup when I airbrush, and you can see the paint color show up in the filter!