Community
Search
Notices
S.P.A.D. Aircraft - Coroplast design Discuss the growing area of S.P.A.D.S. (Simple Plastic Airplane Designs). Coroplast type aircraft, pizza box planes, etc..

Self Taught Pilots

Search this Thread

Old 04-11-2005, 10:31 AM
FighterBird873

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Self Taught Pilots

Has anyone learned to fly on their own? I've got my first Spadet-40 all set for its maiden flight. I've got the engine run-in, the radio programmed, and a large safe place to fly. Has anyone else gone down this route and found success? For this thread I would classify failure as a substantial financial loss, such as a bent crank shaft, stripped servos, or a car door with a propnut sized hole in it. Since we are in the SPAD forum, major structural damage doesn't count.

I've got countless hours on the FMS program, more hours on a hobbyzone fighterbird, and a few hours on a Great Planes BLT.
Old 04-11-2005, 10:58 AM
KyFBCGuy

Default RE: Self Taught Pilots

Don't try it... You will crash. Not to say that you will not crash if you have an instructor, but the odds are that you
will crash and do substantial damage to your plane without one. Find a field and get an instructor to hook
you up to a buddy box.I too have countless hours on FMS and was pretty confident that i could fly.
The problem is that sims dont really prepare you for the "What ifs" of RC airplanes.
I was doing fine up until i made that turn a bit faster than i should have, and did something wrong.
It went from "going good" to "Oh SH*T" in about 2 seconds. The instructor said it happened so fast that
he couldnt react in time, and in it went. My fault totally. I was glad it was a spad. If it was a balsa plane
it would have been sawdust.

Get an instructor...you will be glad you did.

Jeff
Old 04-11-2005, 12:56 PM
FighterBird873

I don't want someone else to fly my plane, I built it, its mine. And if I crash it, so be it. I've accepted that. Someone else must share that POV. Or is it just me?