S.P.A.D. Aircraft - Coroplast design Discuss the growing area of S.P.A.D.S. (Simple Plastic Airplane Designs). Coroplast type aircraft, pizza box planes, etc..

Which Thickness of Coroplast ????

Reply
Old 05-23-2005, 03:32 PM
  #1
JettPilot
Thread Starter
 
JettPilot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Islamorada, FL
Posts: 1,160
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Which Thickness of Coroplast ????

I am building an EPP mothership and putting a Zenoah G-26 on it. I am going to use Corroplast for the engine mount and need to know what thickness of coroplast it would take to be strong enough to mount a G-26 to. With this much power weight is NOT a concern, but streingth is !

What thickness of coroplast does US aircore use for a 40 sized plane fuselage ?
JettPilot is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2005, 03:51 PM
  #2
tamccain
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Payson, AZ
Posts: 42
Default RE: Which Thickness of Coroplast ????

I don't think it is wise to use just coroplast for your engine mount. I don't think you will ever get the strength or rigidity from coroplast that you will need for the engine mount. You should use something like the plastic cutting boards, or wood, or even some steel, but I don't think the coroplast would be a good idea.
tamccain is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2005, 04:48 PM
  #3
rsieminski
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Sarasota, FL
Posts: 1,502
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Which Thickness of Coroplast ????

Coro is not for engine mounts. 2mm coro for most wings, 4mm for most fuse's. HDPE for most engine mounts. Nothing is set in stone, but if you use coro to mount an engine, someone will end up in the ER.
rsieminski is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2005, 05:33 PM
  #4
ChrisSpad
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Cordova, TN,
Posts: 1,528
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Which Thickness of Coroplast ????

not to mention the coro melting.
ChrisSpad is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2005, 06:42 PM
  #5
RC-Captain
 
RC-Captain's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: RCHill, NJ
Posts: 2,981
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Which Thickness of Coroplast ????

I feel you can use coro if you cover the parts where the engine touches the mount with CA covered balsa. This way it won't melt the coro when hot and you will save on weight. Of course you know the CA is for fire proofing the mount and fire wall. GL
RC-Captain is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2005, 08:53 PM
  #6
jpr72c
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Wichita, KS
Posts: 70
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Which Thickness of Coroplast ????

Check out the pics in "My First Gasser" thread. I mounted a G26 on 1/2" plywood and it works great I'm now a believer in coro fuse - very strong and lite. I had used gutter pipe in all my other spads!
jpr72c is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2005, 10:09 PM
  #7
voyager_663rd
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Toronto, ON, CANADA
Posts: 1,220
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Which Thickness of Coroplast ????

Quote:
ORIGINAL: RC-FIEND

I feel you can use coro if you cover the parts where the engine touches the mount with CA covered balsa. This way it won't melt the coro when hot and you will save on weight. Of course you know the CA is for fire proofing the mount and fire wall. GL
coro won't hold the weight, especially a g26. use balsa to support it? bah. that balsa IS your engine mount. would you use balsa as a mount ANYWHERE? Don't think so.
voyager_663rd is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2005, 10:31 PM
  #8
RC-Captain
 
RC-Captain's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: RCHill, NJ
Posts: 2,981
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Which Thickness of Coroplast ????

I agree , I wouldn't use anything but a regular die cast metal or what I think is carbon fiber plastic engine mount. But I must guess he must have seen a coroplast mount before which leads me to believe this why he is asking about the thickness of the US aircore fuse.
RC-Captain is offline  
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 09:15 AM.