Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Results 1 to 8 of 8

  1. #1
    JettPilot's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Islamorada, FL
    Posts
    1,160
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    Which Thickness of Coroplast ????

    I am building an EPP mothership and putting a Zenoah G-26 on it. I am going to use Corroplast for the engine mount and need to know what thickness of coroplast it would take to be strong enough to mount a G-26 to. With this much power weight is NOT a concern, but streingth is !

    What thickness of coroplast does US aircore use for a 40 sized plane fuselage ?
    THE TRUTH ABOVE ALL ELSE...

  2. #2

    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Payson, AZ
    Posts
    42
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Which Thickness of Coroplast ????

    I don't think it is wise to use just coroplast for your engine mount. I don't think you will ever get the strength or rigidity from coroplast that you will need for the engine mount. You should use something like the plastic cutting boards, or wood, or even some steel, but I don't think the coroplast would be a good idea.

  3. #3

    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Sarasota, FL
    Posts
    1,502
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Which Thickness of Coroplast ????

    Coro is not for engine mounts. 2mm coro for most wings, 4mm for most fuse's. HDPE for most engine mounts. Nothing is set in stone, but if you use coro to mount an engine, someone will end up in the ER.
    You can check out some of my photos at:
    http://www.flickr.com/photos/rsieminski

  4. #4

    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Cordova, TN,
    Posts
    1,528
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Which Thickness of Coroplast ????

    not to mention the coro melting.
    No matter how many planes i plant, they just won\'t grow.
    [link]http://www.chrisspad.com/planes/[/link]

  5. #5
    RC-Captain's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    RCHill, NJ
    Posts
    2,981
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Which Thickness of Coroplast ????

    I feel you can use coro if you cover the parts where the engine touches the mount with CA covered balsa. This way it won't melt the coro when hot and you will save on weight. Of course you know the CA is for fire proofing the mount and fire wall. GL
    I finally broke bread and bought a real charger , THE TRITON 2............

  6. #6

    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Wichita, KS
    Posts
    70
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Which Thickness of Coroplast ????

    Check out the pics in "My First Gasser" thread. I mounted a G26 on 1/2" plywood and it works great I'm now a believer in coro fuse - very strong and lite. I had used gutter pipe in all my other spads!

  7. #7

    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Toronto, ON, CANADA
    Posts
    1,208
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Which Thickness of Coroplast ????

    ORIGINAL: RC-FIEND

    I feel you can use coro if you cover the parts where the engine touches the mount with CA covered balsa. This way it won't melt the coro when hot and you will save on weight. Of course you know the CA is for fire proofing the mount and fire wall. GL
    coro won't hold the weight, especially a g26. use balsa to support it? bah. that balsa IS your engine mount. would you use balsa as a mount ANYWHERE? Don't think so.
    Len-> More questions than answers some answers are here http://www.freewebs.com/rc_tips_and_hints 19,000+ hits

  8. #8
    RC-Captain's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    RCHill, NJ
    Posts
    2,981
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Which Thickness of Coroplast ????

    I agree , I wouldn't use anything but a regular die cast metal or what I think is carbon fiber plastic engine mount. But I must guess he must have seen a coroplast mount before which leads me to believe this why he is asking about the thickness of the US aircore fuse.
    I finally broke bread and bought a real charger , THE TRITON 2............


Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:50 AM.

SEO by vBSEO 3.6.1 ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.