Community
Search
Notices
S.P.A.D. Aircraft - Coroplast design Discuss the growing area of S.P.A.D.S. (Simple Plastic Airplane Designs). Coroplast type aircraft, pizza box planes, etc..

CoroZag .25 Plan

Search this Thread

Old 07-20-2006, 12:07 PM
joe_weisman

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default CoroZag .25 Plan

Just in case there's somebody here who doesn't prowl around spadworld too, I'm re-posting a set of plans that I made for a SPAD CoroZag flying wing. It uses an OS .25LA engine.

I've built the plane twice, and although I have no previous experience with flying wings I'm really surprised at how much fun this thing is to fly. Energetic, highly responsive and stable. Good roll rate and great inverse performance.

Wing Span: 52â€
Weight: <3 lb
Wing Loading: ~10 oz/sq.ft
Sweep of Leading Edge : 30º

A short video I made with my son: http://www.zippyvideos.com/3187948355434396/zagi/

The plan: http://www.wm-designs.com/corozag_1.0.pdf

Enjoy!
Joe
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	Om32599.jpg
Views:	20
Size:	76.5 KB
ID:	494169   Click image for larger version

Name:	Kf14253.jpg
Views:	20
Size:	62.4 KB
ID:	494170   Click image for larger version

Name:	Wc77127.jpg
Views:	18
Size:	47.7 KB
ID:	494171  
Old 08-01-2006, 09:22 PM
Stubshaft

Default RE: CoroZag .25 Plan

Looks great. I was thinking of scaling it down slightly and using a OS FP.10 engine.
Old 08-04-2006, 05:23 AM
joe_weisman

Thanks.

If you go down to a .10 engine and use all HS81 micro servos you'll loose about 10% of the total fly away weight, but will have just about half the power.

Some weight could be shaved off by building the spar & engine mount a little lighter. This should be possible because you're carrying a smaller engine, flying slower and lifting a lighter weight. Also use smaller wing tips, maybe half size. Mine look cool but are probably bigger than needed.