Community
Search
Notices
S.P.A.D. Aircraft - Coroplast design Discuss the growing area of S.P.A.D.S. (Simple Plastic Airplane Designs). Coroplast type aircraft, pizza box planes, etc..

Coroplast glue options

Search this Thread

Old 05-24-2003, 03:04 PM
ajvpb
My Feedback: (3)

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Coroplast glue options

I got goop as recommended for Chris's 540 edge. This is my first spad, so I'm a newbie as far as what glues you can and can't use. I know the material list calls for goop, but on the back of it it says it can't be used on foam, and goes through a list of many that start with poly. I know a polymer is a chain, so since the styrofoam is a chain along with the coroplast, could it damage the coroplast? Basically, is it safe to use the goop on coroplast with the styrofoam warning.

Second question:

I am using robart hinge points, and I would really like to use 30 minute epoxy on them. However, the instructions say to use the goop. Can I use 30 minute, or will it not bond well with the coroplast? Thanks

Alex
Old 05-24-2003, 03:08 PM
ChrisSpad

the goop is only used to hold the wing into the fuselage, and the hinge points in.
30 minute epoxy will work fine for the hinge points, but, goop sticks better.

Do not use goop on foam. Polyurethane glue works well for foam to coroplast. Read all the way through the instructions, and i think you'll find that i described how to glue the spar to the wing.
Old 05-25-2003, 12:48 AM
ajvpb

Yes I did read all the way through and I do have poly glue for that purpose. So, then just to make sure, I should use the goop for the hinge points, right? Also, with the elevator torque rod, is that used so that you only have to hook up a control horn to one of the elevator halfs? If so, will a 2-56 pushrod work well? Thanks for your help and thanks for taking the time to put up your plans.

Alex
Old 05-25-2003, 01:09 AM
ChrisSpad