RCU Forums

RCU Forums (https://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/)
-   S.P.A.D. Aircraft - Coroplast design (https://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/s-p-d-aircraft-coroplast-design-178/)
-   -   Corostar II and Snowy Weather (https://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/s-p-d-aircraft-coroplast-design-178/9495105-corostar-ii-snowy-weather.html)

dakoris73 02-11-2010 08:07 AM

Corostar II and Snowy Weather

Hello everyone;

I'm still a newbie in this hobby, and I happen to have a late model Corostar II plane that I am looking to fly here shortly. I currently have it set up with a Supertigre 46 on it, and having never flown in the cold, was wondering if there was anything I need to be aware of engine wise, plane wise, ect.......

We are having a winter contest at our field, and I would like to be able to fly this corostar as it is a very durable and sturdy plane. There might be a tendancy of snow flurries in the area as well, and I was wondering what tips or tricks are out there that I might wanna be aware of so that I will be able to enjoy this "winterflying" season......

Thanks, and I'm lovin every aspect of this hobby so far.... and hoping to experience more as the warmer weather comes around.

Dax

Mr67Stang 02-11-2010 09:26 AM

RE: Corostar II and Snowy Weather

In my case anyways, cold fingers dont fly as well as warm ones:D

Villa 02-11-2010 10:13 AM

Hi dakoris73
In cold weather I use a little lighter fluid when the engine is hard to start. I ONLY use an electric starter since I am afraid of a backfire due to the lighter fluid.

spaceworm 02-11-2010 11:22 AM

There used to be on the market a "glove" to fit over the transmitter and your hands. I have not seen them advertised for awhile; I thought maybe todays fliers woosed out on cold weather flying.

We used lighter fluid back in the fifties to start ucontrol Fox engines without any thing but our bare fingers. But, boy did it hurt when you got hit by the prop.