Scale Racing Discuss all aspects of semi-scale pylon racing.

GEE BEE R3 RACER??WOW!!!

Reply
Old 03-24-2009, 04:34 AM
  #151
forestroke
 
forestroke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Taipei, TAIWAN
Posts: 1,942
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: GEE BEE R3 RACER??WOW!!!

clearly NOT the same plane :-) i can't imagine what would happen if you put a 400 radial on this plane. just firing it up would total it!
forestroke is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2009, 03:32 AM
  #152
whereisdavid
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Luxembourg, LUXEMBOURG
Posts: 1
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: GEE BEE R3 RACER??WOW!!!

Hello

I have built 2 Gee Bee R3, and it is a nice looking plane and it fits in my Pickup without taking the wings out

I have fit the 26cc gaz engine from XYZ on it and it is fine flying so far, I crash the first one due to CG far too much heavy in the front, now the 2 batteries are in the tail of the plane

I am repairing the broken one in order to fit a .90 4-Stroke this time to have a lighter plane, and I will slighty extend the wings by 30mm each

Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Jh16787.jpg
Views:	74
Size:	56.1 KB
ID:	1177072   Click image for larger version

Name:	Fa87124.jpg
Views:	71
Size:	56.4 KB
ID:	1177073   Click image for larger version

Name:	Fw26858.jpg
Views:	68
Size:	40.1 KB
ID:	1177074   Click image for larger version

Name:	Gi85002.jpg
Views:	71
Size:	43.3 KB
ID:	1177075   Click image for larger version

Name:	Qw93964.jpg
Views:	65
Size:	29.9 KB
ID:	1177076  

Click image for larger version

Name:	Yj45977.jpg
Views:	66
Size:	41.6 KB
ID:	1177077  
whereisdavid is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2009, 09:55 AM
  #153
forestroke
 
forestroke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Taipei, TAIWAN
Posts: 1,942
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: GEE BEE R3 RACER??WOW!!!

beautiful! i wish i could get my hands on one. but to ship to taiwan would cost more than the already very expensive arf!
forestroke is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2009, 07:23 PM
  #154
1moparman1
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: millbrae, CA
Posts: 65
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: GEE BEE R3 RACER??WOW!!!

hay whereisdavid,have you try it with a e motor??i just got one of this gee bee r3,but have not built it yet!any help will be good. thanks,
1moparman1 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2009, 12:36 PM
  #155
k8svrick
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Columbus, OH
Posts: 177
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: GEE BEE R3 RACER??WOW!!!

Here's a link to a giant's giant R3...

http://www.exclusiv-aircraft.de/

The "engine check" and 245 kmh high speed videos are very impressive. This model uses a Moki 400cc radial.
k8svrick is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2009, 09:48 PM
  #156
ScaleNVYflyr
 
ScaleNVYflyr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Poway , CA
Posts: 37
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: GEE BEE R3 RACER??WOW!!!

Hmm I'm still undecided about this plane.. Seem hard to fly but many like it when they can fly it..
ScaleNVYflyr is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2009, 06:35 AM
  #157
mfuess
 
mfuess's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Bedford, TX
Posts: 467
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: GEE BEE R3 RACER??WOW!!!

I maidened my R3 yesterday. It's powered with an OS 95AX engine, spinning a 14x7 prop. It was OK I suppose. The 95AX was running a little hot so some baffling is needed in the cowl. The strut wires are not all that great, as 3 clevises popped off during my first landing. This is an easy fix. All in all... it's a good flying aircraft and it attracts a lot of attention at the airfield.

I will give the OS 95AX several more flights using different props to see if it will come alive. If not, I will install a G20 in it.





The R3 didn't come with instructions, not that any are needed. However the manual is available on line at Hobby Lobby.

mfuess is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2009, 10:14 PM
  #158
ScaleNVYflyr
 
ScaleNVYflyr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Poway , CA
Posts: 37
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: GEE BEE R3 RACER??WOW!!!


Quote:
ORIGINAL: mfuess

I maidened my R3 yesterday. It's powered with an OS 95AX engine, spinning a 14x7 prop. It was OK I suppose. The 95AX was running a little hot so some baffling is needed in the cowl. The strut wires are not all that great, as 3 clevises popped off during my first landing. This is an easy fix. All in all... it's a good flying aircraft and it attracts a lot of attention at the airfield.

I will give the OS 95AX several more flights using different props to see if it will come alive. If not, I will install a G20 in it.





The R3 didn't come with instructions, not that any are needed. However the manual is available on line at Hobby Lobby.

Any comments about the flight .. I caved and ordered mine yesterday
ScaleNVYflyr is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2009, 05:29 AM
  #159
mfuess
 
mfuess's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Bedford, TX
Posts: 467
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: GEE BEE R3 RACER??WOW!!!

I finally maidened my R3 a few days ago. It flies well. The only thing I don't like is the strut wires, they pop off and break too easy. I replaced the wires with two stiff aluminum rods in the center section of the aircraft and all's well now. It's best to use lots of exponential for your first flight as the R3 can be very twitchy.

It flies on rails once you get it trimmed up.

mfuess is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2009, 08:49 AM
  #160
ScaleNVYflyr
 
ScaleNVYflyr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Poway , CA
Posts: 37
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: GEE BEE R3 RACER??WOW!!!

Quote:
ORIGINAL: mfuess

I finally maidened my R3 a few days ago. It flies well. The only thing I don't like is the strut wires, they pop off and break too easy. I replaced the wires with two stiff aluminum rods in the center section of the aircraft and all's well now. It's best to use lots of exponential for your first flight as the R3 can be very twitchy.

It flies on rails once you get it trimmed up.

If you are running Spektrum or JR may I get your initial settings? Thanks
ScaleNVYflyr is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2009, 01:41 PM
  #161
mfuess
 
mfuess's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Bedford, TX
Posts: 467
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: GEE BEE R3 RACER??WOW!!!

I use a SpeKtrum 7 with a 9800 Receiver.

AILERONS

LOW: 60% with +50% Exponential
HIGH 100% with +70 Exponential

ELEVATOR

LOW: 70% with 35% Exponential
HIGH: 90% with +70%

RUDDER
LOW: 85% with +30% Exponential
HIGH 150% with +70% Exponential
mfuess is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2009, 01:50 PM
  #162
ScaleNVYflyr
 
ScaleNVYflyr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Poway , CA
Posts: 37
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: GEE BEE R3 RACER??WOW!!!

Thank you very much! I use the DX-7 as well..
ScaleNVYflyr is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2009, 03:25 PM
  #163
mfuess
 
mfuess's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Bedford, TX
Posts: 467
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: GEE BEE R3 RACER??WOW!!!

Here is the final detail work on my R3. I'm very happy with this aircraft. The OS 95AX flies it well, but it's no Quickie 500.



I have about a dozen props to try after the engine gets broken-in.


mfuess is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2009, 03:47 PM
  #164
ScaleNVYflyr
 
ScaleNVYflyr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Poway , CA
Posts: 37
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: GEE BEE R3 RACER??WOW!!!

Nice.. Thank you .. I can't wait to get mine.. And the wife wasnt too mad. She liked the looks
ScaleNVYflyr is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2009, 06:55 AM
  #165
mfuess
 
mfuess's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Bedford, TX
Posts: 467
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: GEE BEE R3 RACER??WOW!!!


Quote:
ORIGINAL: ScaleNVYflyr

Thank you very much! I use the DX-7 as well..
I have used a DX 7 since they became available, and I haven't had a single hit or radio problem. They are excellent!
mfuess is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2009, 07:05 AM
  #166
jfassino
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Dunlap, IL
Posts: 91
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: GEE BEE R3 RACER??WOW!!!


Quote:
ORIGINAL: mfuess

I use a SpeKtrum 7 with a 9800 Receiver.

AILERONS

LOW: 60% with +50% Exponential
HIGH 100% with +70 Exponential

ELEVATOR

LOW: 70% with 35% Exponential
HIGH: 90% with +70%

RUDDER
LOW: 85% with +30% Exponential
HIGH 150% with +70% Exponential
This would be better information if it included the degrees of travel of the control surfaces. Unless the two airplanes have the same mechanical connections (servo arms and positions in the servo and control horns) the percent servo travel doesn't tell how much the controls will move, please be careful.

Jim
jfassino is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2009, 07:59 AM
  #167
mfuess
 
mfuess's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Bedford, TX
Posts: 467
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: GEE BEE R3 RACER??WOW!!!


Quote:
ORIGINAL: jfassino


Quote:
ORIGINAL: mfuess

I use a SpeKtrum 7 with a 9800 Receiver.

AILERONS

LOW: 60% with +50% Exponential
HIGH 100% with +70 Exponential

ELEVATOR

LOW: 70% with 35% Exponential
HIGH: 90% with +70%

RUDDER
LOW: 85% with +30% Exponential
HIGH 150% with +70% Exponential
This would be better information if it included the degrees of travel of the control surfaces. Unless the two airplanes have the same mechanical connections (servo arms and positions in the servo and control horns) the percent servo travel doesn't tell how much the controls will move, please be careful.

Jim
AILERONS: 25mm
ELEVATOR: 35mm
RUDDER: 60mm

mfuess is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2009, 10:28 AM
  #168
ScaleNVYflyr
 
ScaleNVYflyr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Poway , CA
Posts: 37
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: GEE BEE R3 RACER??WOW!!!

Thanks.. I was going to use the stock set up.. but come to think of it they may not have been in the "non" existant directions
ScaleNVYflyr is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2009, 03:25 PM
  #169
jeffk464
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Lehi, UT
Posts: 1,692
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: GEE BEE R3 RACER??WOW!!!

Interesting to see if this plane will be able to make a 26cc gasser fast. Looks great by the say.
jeffk464 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2009, 07:30 PM
  #170
Glacier Girl
 
Glacier Girl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Lakeland, FL
Posts: 7,906
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: GEE BEE R3 RACER??WOW!!!

mfuess, nice job!!! Where did you get the Gee Bee lettering on the tail from?
Glacier Girl is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2009, 07:57 PM
  #171
Glacier Girl
 
Glacier Girl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Lakeland, FL
Posts: 7,906
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: GEE BEE R3 RACER??WOW!!!

Well I wrapped up mine tonight. "E" powered!!! 1000+ watts spinning a 14 x 13 x 3 APC.
Couple of the things I did differently.
Added a simple cockpit and pilot, couldn't stand the open bare frame work showing.

Built the rudder and elevator controls inside so no linkages hanging out to spoil the view.

Added a pair of vents to exhaust the airflow, and blocked off most of the fire wall area to allow only airflow over the motor/esc/packs.

Cowl is magnetic latched, single screw on top locks the front of the main hatch, cowl, and fire wall together. Remove the screww, the cowl pops forward and makes the hatch easy to remove and install.

Added some holes at the rear of the hatch mount area to let air escape back into the fuselage and out the vent holes, so hopefully no popping off of the hatch.

Rebuilt the aileron servo mounts, and built covers, didn't like the whole top of the servo sticking out, now its just the arm. If I had thought ahead before I glued in the ailerons, I would have probably gone with torque rods so there was no linkages hanging out at all for the ailerons.

And finally replaced all the tires with rubber versions.

If the flying wires don't hold up, I'm going to order a set for the Hangar9 Camel for it. Hardware is much better quality, and comes with turnbuckles for adjusting the tension, so no clevises to deal with.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Jh14515.jpg
Views:	52
Size:	59.9 KB
ID:	1289830   Click image for larger version

Name:	Yt62004.jpg
Views:	48
Size:	52.5 KB
ID:	1289831   Click image for larger version

Name:	Gl19370.jpg
Views:	45
Size:	54.8 KB
ID:	1289832   Click image for larger version

Name:	Dw65403.jpg
Views:	53
Size:	66.2 KB
ID:	1289833   Click image for larger version

Name:	Co80759.jpg
Views:	48
Size:	45.3 KB
ID:	1289834  

Click image for larger version

Name:	Si70474.jpg
Views:	49
Size:	55.1 KB
ID:	1289835   Click image for larger version

Name:	Uw41375.jpg
Views:	44
Size:	52.0 KB
ID:	1289836   Click image for larger version

Name:	Ec99270.jpg
Views:	45
Size:	43.4 KB
ID:	1289837  
Glacier Girl is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2009, 03:24 AM
  #172
forestroke
 
forestroke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Taipei, TAIWAN
Posts: 1,942
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: GEE BEE R3 RACER??WOW!!!

looks great! albeit the pilot doesn't look like he's having fun!
forestroke is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2009, 06:35 AM
  #173
Glacier Girl
 
Glacier Girl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Lakeland, FL
Posts: 7,906
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: GEE BEE R3 RACER??WOW!!!


Quote:
ORIGINAL: forestroke

looks great! albeit the pilot doesn't look like he's having fun!
Yeah having been yanked from a T28 and dropped in the R3's seat tends to do that. LOL
Glacier Girl is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2009, 11:31 AM
  #174
still4given
 
still4given's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Victorville, CA
Posts: 1,520
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: GEE BEE R3 RACER??WOW!!!

This is probably a stupid question, but are you guys planning to pylon race these planes? This is the pylon forum. If so, you should probably be thinking about a standard engine for them.
still4given is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2009, 01:20 PM
  #175
mfuess
 
mfuess's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Bedford, TX
Posts: 467
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: GEE BEE R3 RACER??WOW!!!


Quote:
ORIGINAL: Glacier Girl

mfuess, nice job!!! Where did you get the Gee Bee lettering on the tail from?

I made it myself.
mfuess is offline  
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 03:11 AM.