Scale RC Helicopters Discuss scale helis, and modifications to pod and boom helis that make them scale.

Hughes 500E 700 size Electric

Reply

Old 01-19-2011, 12:30 PM
  #1  
Condor060
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (2)
 
Condor060's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Monroe, NC
Posts: 489
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Hughes 500E 700 size Electric

I have a Chaos 600 from RC Aerodyne I am building to install into their 700 size Hughes 500E. They provide an adaptor so you can use the 600 mechanics. The only change will be the addition of a 700 size tail boom and shaft.I am using the Hitec HS-7940TH servos and the Aurora 9 riadio. Love this thing. Great for programing.

This is the third Chaos 600 I have built. It is a T-Rex clone but the parts are about ½ of the T-Rex stuff and the kit is all metal head parts, fiberglass blades and frame.

I plan on installing a 5 blade main rotor, 4 blade tail, cockpit with pilots, and a 12s setup. I think this will be a fun project but I have never played with a 3 axis gyro before. Should be entertaining. Any suggestions would be more than welcome.
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	Ca80523.jpg
Views:	316
Size:	91.8 KB
ID:	1550110   Click image for larger version

Name:	Je10232.jpg
Views:	111
Size:	63.2 KB
ID:	1550111   Click image for larger version

Name:	Ns45063.jpg
Views:	283
Size:	92.7 KB
ID:	1550112   Click image for larger version

Name:	Qk21121.jpg
Views:	107
Size:	72.2 KB
ID:	1550113   Click image for larger version

Name:	It10087.jpg
Views:	101
Size:	85.8 KB
ID:	1550114   Click image for larger version

Name:	Ne55624.jpg
Views:	99
Size:	88.1 KB
ID:	1550115   Click image for larger version

Name:	Jl94356.jpg
Views:	93
Size:	80.8 KB
ID:	1550116   Click image for larger version

Name:	Nl29468.jpg
Views:	86
Size:	113.9 KB
ID:	1550117  

Click image for larger version

Name:	Lj21990.jpg
Views:	80
Size:	73.2 KB
ID:	1550118   Click image for larger version

Name:	Hc91914.jpg
Views:	114
Size:	75.4 KB
ID:	1550119  
Condor060 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2011, 03:42 PM
  #2  
Condor060
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (2)
 
Condor060's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Monroe, NC
Posts: 489
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Hughes 500E 700 size Electric

I was looking around the internet today and decided to order the complete upgrade package from KDE Direct. I have had concerns about ground resonance with these 5 blades but this equipment will give me a more rigid platform to start from.

Plus it's preeeeeety lookin.

THis is the T-Rex 600 upgrade kit. You can get anything you want individually but I do love pretty. I will give more information as I install everything. Should be here no later than Monday.
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	Hf99099.jpg
Views:	53
Size:	53.6 KB
ID:	1550572   Click image for larger version

Name:	Dy79548.jpg
Views:	66
Size:	66.6 KB
ID:	1550573   Click image for larger version

Name:	Sx62848.jpg
Views:	47
Size:	92.8 KB
ID:	1550574   Click image for larger version

Name:	Fy72556.jpg
Views:	46
Size:	75.4 KB
ID:	1550575   Click image for larger version

Name:	Zk67659.jpg
Views:	49
Size:	71.5 KB
ID:	1550576   Click image for larger version

Name:	Ya56318.jpg
Views:	55
Size:	82.1 KB
ID:	1550577   Click image for larger version

Name:	Zy82707.jpg
Views:	63
Size:	63.5 KB
ID:	1550578  
Condor060 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2011, 08:28 AM
  #3  
BarracudaHockey
My Feedback: (11)
 
BarracudaHockey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 22,612
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Hughes 500E 700 size Electric

You wont inherently have any more resonance from a 5 blade head than you would with a 2 blade head.

What FBL are you going to use? The Beastx seems to be a really good deal right now and I have a lot of friends flying it.
BarracudaHockey is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2011, 03:41 PM
  #4  
krumrick2
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Sao Jose dos CamposSao Paulo, BRAZIL
Posts: 33
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Hughes 500E 700 size Electric

Hi Condor,

I have a lot of experience with multiblades, in fact I make my owns, from three to five blades, and I mounted and fly others made in China with good results...so my thoughts:

First... BIGGER IS BETTER...the 700's size fuselage wil fly better than others, EVEN WITHOUT STABILIZERS

You do not need at all 3 axis Gyro or any electronics help, BUT...if you want to use just for sure I will recommend the cheaper Align 3G, I mounted an t-Rex 250 with multiblade head ( my own) and liked the stability, Rex 250 are twitchy to fly even with stock head, I mounted two Bell UH-1's flybarless, in all the same stability, even with hard winds.

I recommend the 3G because work well and better...is really easy to setup, the built-in tail gyro work perfectly for scales.

Now...I can pass to you some tips to improve the stability and control without the 3G ( or similar) and after finish the setup you can use the Flybarless with low gain.

In the video links below a few examples of my helis with and without Stabilizers...

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=52TvGcpOGWs This one has the 3G

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9jTMMNdS0Wo as well this one...

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Omb1akbkLJ0 and this...

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8FbIcTF438I THIS HAS NOT ANY KIND OF ELECTRONIC..

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VuSgWNJrnas IDEM IDEM...

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VuSgWNJrnas THIS WAS MY FIRST FIVE BLADES HEAD, WITH CUSTOM MADE WOODEN BLADES...

Best regards,
Manuel
krumrick2 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2011, 08:09 AM
  #5  
Condor060
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (2)
 
Condor060's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Monroe, NC
Posts: 489
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Hughes 500E 700 size Electric

WOW Manuel, You just earned another fan brother. That is some really incredible stuff you got going on. You do some pretty awesome work building your own equipment. That is some of the coolest ideas I have seen in a long time. I am definitely jealous.
Condor060 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2011, 04:39 PM
  #6  
ea01bg
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Berne, NY
Posts: 1,013
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Hughes 500E 700 size Electric

One problem I've had with many of my Trex 600 scale birds is flex in the frames. On three of my Trex 600 scalers the top of the mechanics would have side movment. After going througn the bearings and bearing blocks I found that it was actualy the frames flexing slightly. I solve this by anchoring the top of the frames booth fore and aft of the main shaft to bulkheads on the fuse. On my century 500E I anchored the fuse to the top and then ran anchoring from the top of the mechanics to the base at an angle.
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	Hf99456.jpg
Views:	105
Size:	114.2 KB
ID:	1556549  
ea01bg is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2011, 05:26 PM
  #7  
krumrick2
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Sao Jose dos CamposSao Paulo, BRAZIL
Posts: 33
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Hughes 500E 700 size Electric


ORIGINAL: ea01bg

One problem I've had with many of my Trex 600 scale birds is flex in the frames. On three of my Trex 600 scalers the top of the mechanics would have side movment. After going througn the bearings and bearing blocks I found that it was actualy the frames flexing slightly. I solve this by anchoring the top of the frames booth fore and aft of the main shaft to bulkheads on the fuse. On my century 500E I anchored the fuse to the top and then ran anchoring from the top of the mechanics to the base at an angle.
Yess...I've had similar issues with all my MD's, but not with others fuselages like AS350, Bell UH-1 and Agusta, I really don't know why this happen more with MD's bodys, usually I have more problems with vibes also..

Manuel
krumrick2 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2011, 05:36 PM
  #8  
krumrick2
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Sao Jose dos CamposSao Paulo, BRAZIL
Posts: 33
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Hughes 500E 700 size Electric


ORIGINAL: Condor060

WOW Manuel, You just earned another fan brother. That is some really incredible stuff you got going on. You do some pretty awesome work building your own equipment. That is some of the coolest ideas I have seen in a long time. I am definitely jealous.
Thanks Condor,

If you need help with your multiblade setup will be a pleasure to help. I like to experiment new ideas, and I will share them !.

At first i can say to you that: flying a multiblade machine is REAALLLY good, I just love to fly MD's with five blades, they are a lot stable, if you take a look in all the videos I have with MD's pay attention how easy they manteain altitude, and the smoothness of control.

Manuel
krumrick2 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2011, 05:09 AM
  #9  
ea01bg
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Berne, NY
Posts: 1,013
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Hughes 500E 700 size Electric

I think its just very noticeable on the 500. It has the HIgh dog house and the T tail makes even the slightest vibration stand out. I also had it on my Sea Hawk that used Trex 600 mechanics and UH1. I just put a streched Chaos in a Thunder Tiger A109. Once I had tyhe mechanic firmly mounted to the base I grasped the main shaft and sure enough the frames would flex. A couple of braces fore and aft of the main and the problem was eliminated.
ea01bg is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2011, 09:05 PM
  #10  
Condor060
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (2)
 
Condor060's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Monroe, NC
Posts: 489
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Hughes 500E 700 size Electric

We are getting close to flying her now. The inside of the aircraft is painted. Mechanics installed. We have 8 working lights including landing lights on a separate channel so they can be turned on during final.

>>

The cockpit is in and you can see the adapter made by RC Aerodyne to install the 600 mechanics. I have good rotor height and didn’t modify anything on the install. Went pretty much as advertised according to the manual.

>>

We have two 6S 5800 ma batteries and are still working on some wiring. The KDE stuff looks very nice inside and the extra strength is a welcome addition to the build. I don’t know what she weighs yet, will get to that tomorrow.

>>

Here are some pics until we can get the rest of this build flight ready. We will have plenty of video and additional pictures after I get some needed sleep.

>>

Yes, That is the new Scorpion 130A speed controller. We had to switch the mounting placement because of that monster but she is well worth the effort. They won’t be available for a couple of weeks and I will post flight logs from the first flights.

>>

I really like the new feature of disconnecting the power lead before connecting the controller to you battery. You will notice a small red wire connected to each side of the power cable. This allows proper charging on the capacitors before you connect the main power cable and eliminates that huge welding spark you get when connecting large batteries. Also extends the life of the capacitors by at least 20 fold.

>>

The lights are setup on the night fly 14 LED nav system and can be controlled from the radio.

Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	Rp44857.jpg
Views:	64
Size:	74.0 KB
ID:	1557192   Click image for larger version

Name:	Je99801.jpg
Views:	61
Size:	77.3 KB
ID:	1557193   Click image for larger version

Name:	Gl18997.jpg
Views:	71
Size:	70.1 KB
ID:	1557194   Click image for larger version

Name:	Jd87991.jpg
Views:	67
Size:	81.3 KB
ID:	1557195   Click image for larger version

Name:	Tf49179.jpg
Views:	62
Size:	57.1 KB
ID:	1557196   Click image for larger version

Name:	Qh66145.jpg
Views:	51
Size:	69.0 KB
ID:	1557197   Click image for larger version

Name:	Qs29029.jpg
Views:	75
Size:	73.3 KB
ID:	1557198   Click image for larger version

Name:	Rq56209.jpg
Views:	98
Size:	97.5 KB
ID:	1557199  

Click image for larger version

Name:	Hg71436.jpg
Views:	98
Size:	93.3 KB
ID:	1557200  
Condor060 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2011, 04:34 PM
  #11  
ea01bg
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Berne, NY
Posts: 1,013
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Hughes 500E 700 size Electric

How did you get the KDE baseplate to work? Doesnt the Chaos have wider frames than the normal 600 esp?
ea01bg is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2011, 05:13 PM
  #12  
Condor060
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (2)
 
Condor060's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Monroe, NC
Posts: 489
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Hughes 500E 700 size Electric

The Chaos 600 has 53 MM frames just like the Align Nitro. Most electric frames are still 47 mm.Chaos made their framewider to accept thelarger motors on the market without cutting the frames. KDE has a conversion kit they are making available to fit all 53 mm frames. They are 3 mm aluminum spacers. Patrick sent the spacers and it worked great. Gotta love the look. You can see the spacers in the picture of the frame with green background.
Condor060 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2011, 10:16 AM
  #13  
ea01bg
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Berne, NY
Posts: 1,013
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Hughes 500E 700 size Electric

I'll be interested in seeing how that works out. I considered doing the same thing on the 90 size a109 I just put my Chaos in. I was worryed about frame flexing I choose to go with L shaped bracket that ran the full lenght of the frames.
ea01bg is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2011, 01:35 AM
  #14  
Condor060
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (2)
 
Condor060's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Monroe, NC
Posts: 489
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Hughes 500E 700 size Electric

I finally finished the build video on the Chaos 600 mechanics. I had a huge amount of video to edit before I could move on th flying it.

I plan on flying the Chaos with the 5 blade head and the Skookum setup this weekend.

[youtube]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hJTF6u7DDU4[/youtube]
Condor060 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2011, 08:04 PM
  #15  
Condor060
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (2)
 
Condor060's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Monroe, NC
Posts: 489
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Hughes 500E 700 size Electric

This is the RC Aerodynes Chaos 600 video with the Skookum Flybarless system Maiden flight. 5 blade main rotor and 4 blade tail rotor worked great and the Skookum on board computer was just perfect. I didn’t even have to put in a single click of trim.
I used an Align 700 tail boom on the 600 mechanics and it was a dream to fly. I don’t think I will ever go back to a flybar setup.
I will install the Chaos 600 mechanics into the Hughes 500 tonight and have it ready for flight this weekend. I can’t wait.

[youtube]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NHZ31xdbpsQ[/youtube]
Condor060 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2011, 05:08 AM
  #16  
BarracudaHockey
My Feedback: (11)
 
BarracudaHockey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 22,612
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Hughes 500E 700 size Electric

Good deal. I'm doing some experements with a Helicommand HC3X this weekend, if I get comfortable with it, it's going in my Vario Jet Ranger
BarracudaHockey is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2011, 02:48 PM
  #17  
ea01bg
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Berne, NY
Posts: 1,013
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Hughes 500E 700 size Electric

Looks very solid. What size blades? Will you be using a four bladed tail on the 500? I assume your running an extended shaf, if you are how did you overcome the problem with extending the links on the plug and play head?
ea01bg is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2011, 03:52 PM
  #18  
Condor060
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (2)
 
Condor060's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Monroe, NC
Posts: 489
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Hughes 500E 700 size Electric

The weather is not cooperating but we got a small window to test fly the Hughes 500. My buddy filmed it with his I-phone. This obviously isn’t the video we are going to make but I thought you would like to see the maiden flight anyway. I kept her in my comfort zone for the first flight. Just a few little maneuvers to see how she handles. The Skookum is solid as a rock. We should get 10 minute flight times on this 12S setup.





[youtube]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=20Rxe_QzTJM[/youtube]















Condor060 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2011, 08:04 AM
  #19  
Condor060
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (2)
 
Condor060's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Monroe, NC
Posts: 489
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Hughes 500E 700 size Electric

Here is the final kit and flight video. At 5:15 in the the flight video I get a real wierd tail rotor action. Can anyone tell what it might be. Happens in high winds also.

[youtube]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3Vaf66yly3A[/youtube]
Condor060 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2011, 08:56 AM
  #20  
ea01bg
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Berne, NY
Posts: 1,013
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Hughes 500E 700 size Electric

What are you using for a tail push rod? Could the rod be bending slightly under high load? I had that happen on a 600 size Huges 500 and it produced the same results. Under high load the stock rod would bend slightly then unload giving the tail a slight shake. Replacing the rod with a CF rod resolved the issue.
ea01bg is offline  
Reply With Quote

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service