Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Helicopters > Scale RC Helicopters
Reload this Page >

How to get into scale helis?

Community
Search
Notices
Scale RC Helicopters Discuss scale helis, and modifications to pod and boom helis that make them scale.

How to get into scale helis?

Search this Thread

Old 11-25-2005, 11:28 PM
270win
My Feedback: (14)

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default How to get into scale helis?

I've been flying fixed wing airplanes for years. (15+) Scale is my thing. Warbirds, civilians, whatever just as long as it looks like a real plane. Now I'm starting to get interested in helicopters. All the local shops seem to want everyone to get into hardcore 3D... Personally the main reason I'm in this hobby at all is to replicate full scale aircraft. I've never seen a full scale plane doing the things these 3D pilots are doing.... It's cool to watch but I'd rather try to fly as smooth and scale as possible....

Anyway, I'm just getting started into helis, and if someone just getting into airplanes was talking about scale I'd tell em' to crawl before they walk or even run. I've been looking at a Raptor .50. A guy at my hobby shop put me on a buddy box and I flew his Raptor .50 today. His is tricked out and settup for hardcore 3D but I was able to hover it fairly well. I've been on the sim (G3) for quite some time and had started flying a Hirobo XRB but I'm already bored with it...

So here's the question-
Is the Raptor .50 a good place to start with my goal being to fly scale helis? Can a Raptor .50 be "converted" into a scale heli? I'm new to all this so keep it as basic as possible. I know I've got tons of stuff to learn, just looking for some good direction from someone with experience.

270win
Old 11-25-2005, 11:39 PM
HELI-JOKER
My Feedback: (21)

Default RE: How to get into scale helis?

We have a lot in common.I also want to fly scale aircraft and scale style.If a real chopper or fixed wing aircraft cant do a manuever,I dont want to.