Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Scratch Building, Aircraft Design, 3D/CAD
Reload this Page >

airfoil horizontal stabilizer aerobatics vs slab/

Community
Search
Notices
Scratch Building, Aircraft Design, 3D/CAD If you are starting/building a project from scratch or want to discuss design, CAD or even share 3D design images this is the place. Q&A's.

airfoil horizontal stabilizer aerobatics vs slab/

Search this Thread

Old 03-21-2011, 09:08 AM
mike526mp
My Feedback: (1)

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default airfoil horizontal stabilizer aerobatics vs slab/

anyone have any input on if it's worth the extra effort to use an airfoil for the horizontal stab for an aerobatic (not 3d) airplane/

thanks in advance
Old 03-21-2011, 10:14 AM
Chad Veich
My Feedback: (60)

Received 25 Likes on 23 Posts
Default RE: airfoil horizontal stabilizer aerobatics vs slab/

I'm no expert but my opinion is that it is worth the effort. Not only for the enhanced aerodynamic properties but also because a properly constructed airfoiled stab is much more rigid and less prone to flexing and/or flutter. Just my .02 cents of course.
Old 03-21-2011, 12:04 PM
BMatthews

Received 22 Likes on 19 Posts

Yes and no. For starters using an elevator means that the horizontal surface is actually a camber changing airfoil either way. When displaced the elevtor acts as a flap that induces both camber and a change in the angle of incidence all at the same time.

On a finer level using a built up airfoil with a rounded nose and front zone means that the air MAY tend to stay attached better to the convex side for a given amount of elevator travel. Will it be worth it? That depends on how radical you want the airfoil to look, where the hinge line is located and how much elevator angle you will use. But generally it's safe to say that even a thicker airfoil will be operating in a stalled state if you use more than about 20 degrees of elevator travel.