Community
Search
Notices
Scratch Building, Aircraft Design, 3D/CAD If you are starting/building a project from scratch or want to discuss design, CAD or even share 3D design images this is the place. Q&A's.

wing plans

Search this Thread

Old 08-13-2003, 05:39 PM
t8jones
My Feedback: (1)

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default wing plans

Hello everyone, I am a beginner and have a quick question. I have a trainer plane- an alpha trainer- that I have been learning on. When I got it my fuel tank busted and they sent me a new fuel tank along with a new fuselage. I was thinking about making a wing, fin, and stab, and having a whole new plane. (minus the servos etc..) I was going to use it if I crash my other plane but I figure if I crash it I might have to rbuild the wing anyway. What I had in mind was making the wing with no dihedral and just copying the stab and fin from my other plane. If I were to do this where could I get plans for making a wing. Like I said I am new to this so I was just going to play around since I already have the fuselage. Does anyone have any ideas on what I should do with the extra fuselage???
Old 08-13-2003, 06:08 PM
William Robison
My Feedback: (3)

Received 14 Likes on 13 Posts
Default wing plans

Jones:

Sounds like you already have a good idea of what to do with the second fuselage.

Wing plans? We don' need no steenkin' wing plans!

Four general rules of thumb:

Thicker wing, slower flight.
Thinner wing, faster flight.
Long span and narrow chord, slower roll and a floater.
Short span and wider chord, faster roll and faster descent.

If you use the same span and chord as the original wing you can't make too big a mistake, and this leaves only the airfoil and dihedral as variables. But you might want to knock about four inches span off each side, it'll still have enough area and will roll faster.

Side note - keeping the same wing area, or clipping the wing, just make a duplicate of the original tail for the new plane.