Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Scratch Building, Aircraft Design, 3D/CAD
Reload this Page >

first venture into scratch building for R/C question

Community
Search
Notices
Scratch Building, Aircraft Design, 3D/CAD If you are starting/building a project from scratch or want to discuss design, CAD or even share 3D design images this is the place. Q&A's.

first venture into scratch building for R/C question

Search this Thread

Old 05-18-2011, 02:23 PM
peddlerofpunk

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default first venture into scratch building for R/C question

hello all, i have been building kit balsa models on and off for more than 10 yrs but have never scratch built an R/C... in fact i am new to the whole RC flight thing. i am currently learning to fly with a hobbyzone mini super cub and going well but my real passion is building. i have decided on building a dhc-2 beaver and acquired some plans from another site.

My question stems from the plans themselves, the plans i have are for a 22" wingspan plane, but i have doubled the plans to a 44" wingspan. The question is in regards to the wood for the plans, should i just double the size of the wood listed on the plans? example: if listed as 1/16 square stock, should i then use 1/8 in square instead? or should the wood size used not be scaled the same as the size of the plans?

not sure what im going to use to power her yet, i like electric but wouldnt mind gas/nitro powered either. controls are going to be full tail and ailerons. My building skills are pretty good, and modifications dont scare me at all

Plans can be posted if that will help.

Any other help/suggestions are welcome.
Old 05-18-2011, 02:27 PM
limeybob
My Feedback: (6)

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default RE: first venture into scratch building for R/C question

The wood sizes would be scaled to the square root of 2 =1.44 for the same strength.
bob
Old 05-18-2011, 02:34 PM
peddlerofpunk