Community
Search
Notices
Scratch Building, Aircraft Design, 3D/CAD If you are starting/building a project from scratch or want to discuss design, CAD or even share 3D design images this is the place. Q&A's.

How to print CAD plans?

Search this Thread

Old 08-23-2003, 05:08 AM
west black

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default How to print CAD plans?

Hi! everyone! i am a beginner and i am going to try scratch building. i have a few plans from CAD, i don't know how to print these plans properly in full size using a normal printer.i would like to print it part by part in A4 size then join it up together.One more thing, i am using CAD VIEW, not the whole CAD program. Please Help Me Out!
Old 08-23-2003, 06:00 AM
BMatthews

Received 22 Likes on 19 Posts

The program needs to support "tiled" printing for this to work. If it has that option then it probably also has the option to print allignment marks. You can start by trying that.

Another option that may or may not work for you is to use the banner print option on your printer if it has that. To do this you'll need some banner paper or the old type fanfold sprocket feed paper. If it's the sprocket feed stuff rip off the edges before you feed the long strip into the printer. You'll then need to learn to use the CAD well enough to cut and paste the plans into long strips that can be printed onto bands of 3 4 or even 5 sheets in length. You'll also need to find out how to specify that you're printing onto a custon length of paper in the CAD program.
Old 08-23-2003, 06:01 AM
William Robison
My Feedback: (3)

Received 14 Likes on 13 Posts

West:

"CAD View" I know from nothing, but there are always generalities.

First, the files you want to print have to be in a format CADView will read. The most popular files are .dwg and .dxf. What is the filename extension on the files you want to print, and will CADView import them for viewing?

If you can get them on screen, somewhere there is going to be a "Print" button.