Community
Search
Notices
Scratch Building, Aircraft Design, 3D/CAD If you are starting/building a project from scratch or want to discuss design, CAD or even share 3D design images this is the place. Q&A's.

weight of paint

Search this Thread

Old 12-21-2011, 06:27 AM
cuwaert

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default weight of paint

Hi, I'm a scratch builder of 2.2m span 50cc modern and vintage aerobatic aeroplanes.
Normally I go for balsa sheeted structure with Oracover (Ultracote in US) covering.
But, I must say I'm not the most skillful Oracoverer but when the shapes are not that complicated, I can live (just) with the result.
Now however I 've finally turned to the construction of a Katana T30 design, one that I've postponed for some years because
of the difficulties involved with it such as ,amongst others, the all round forms which for sure I will not be able to cover decently.
So the idea rose to cover the balsa sheeting with a 47gr glass cloth and to paint it.
To save weight, I decreased the balsa from 3mm (I usually apply) to 2.5mm which saves me 60gr/m².
The Oracover costs me 87gr/m² so I have 147gr/m² to spend on glass/epoxy and paint.
Normally the weight of glass/epoxy is 2 times the weight of the glass, in this case say 100gr/m².
Now has anybody an idea of how much weight the painting of this covering will contribute?
Old 12-21-2011, 07:36 AM
All Day Dan
My Feedback: (5)

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Default RE: weight of paint

Here's what I do. The entire finish weighed 1.7 pounds. The model weighs 20 pounds. Dan.