Community
Search
Notices
Scratch Building, Aircraft Design, 3D/CAD If you are starting/building a project from scratch or want to discuss design, CAD or even share 3D design images this is the place. Q&A's.

New to CAD

Search this Thread

Old 09-04-2003, 12:15 AM
Buzykid
My Feedback: (2)

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default New to CAD

I have about 2 years of High School CAD experience, and I am looking to scratch build on some spare time. I am building my second airplane right now from scratch, but had no plans on either just kind of went with it. What is a good programs that I can fool around with and design some stuff with out having to take a a second mortgage to buy the software. I also want one that can convert to whatever file most laser cutters are using.

Thanks

Ryan
Old 09-04-2003, 12:41 AM
BMatthews

Received 22 Likes on 19 Posts
Default New to CAD

Oh boy, I get to be first so my post counts for more....

TurboCAD by IMSI is my weapon of choice. It normally saves to it's own file format of .tcw but it also can save as .dwg and .dxf and a few others as well. At around or just under 100$ I think it's a steal. As a bonus you'll get lots of SPAM (but NICE spam) from them to try and get you to upgrade as each new version comes out. It's worth it though as the upgrades they offer to previous buyers are a very good deal. Usually around $50 for the basic version. There's a pro level package that's really into the 3D rendered pics and stuff but it's in the $400 range and way more than we need for model plans.

As far as I know the laser cutter companies will want either .dwg or .dxf files so you've got that covered.

The other big budget software that's darn good from what I saw of my short time with the demo is IntelliCAD at around $150US I believe.

I'm pretty sure that anything with comparable capabilities starts at well over the $200 mark and goes up QUICKLY from there.
Old 09-04-2003, 01:18 AM
clscale-RCU
My Feedback: (7)

Default New to CAD