Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Results 1 to 14 of 14

  1. #1

    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Mohave Valley, AZ
    Posts
    168
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    CAD motors, servos etc

    Is there any source for CAD drawings of servos or motors? The last thing that I want is to spend several hours designing and building aplane only to find out that I need to hack the cowl or that the servos don't fit. It would also allow me to make my servo and motor mounts before they are in the plane

  2. #2
    All Day Dan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    MANHATTAN BEACH, CA
    Posts
    3,396
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: CAD motors, servos etc

    Dwight, I took the three view drawings that the manufactures have and brought them in to AutoCad useing the image command. I then traced around the out line with polylines or lines etc. Finally, they were scaled up to the dimensions the manufacturer had on their drawings. I'll attach a couple of examples. dan.
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Jh15560.jpg 
Views:	4 
Size:	36.7 KB 
ID:	1797289   Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Av68922.jpg 
Views:	6 
Size:	28.1 KB 
ID:	1797290  
    Dan

  3. #3

    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Mohave Valley, AZ
    Posts
    168
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: CAD motors, servos etc

    Maybe I need to be less lazy. Unless you are WAY faster then me, that engine must have taken awhile.

  4. #4
    All Day Dan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    MANHATTAN BEACH, CA
    Posts
    3,396
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: CAD motors, servos etc

    I have a library of parts that I usually use such as tanks, retracts, wheels and lots of other thinks that I insert in my designs as I go along. The engine did take a while to draw it up but it was time well spent. I also have the top and front view. It helps in the long run to have all the parts ready for instant use. Dan.
    Dan

  5. #5

    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Killingworth, CT
    Posts
    472
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: CAD motors, servos etc

    There's a thread here with a bunch of parts...

    http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showthread.php?t=320031

  6. #6

    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Fairport, NY,
    Posts
    761
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: CAD motors, servos etc

    I have SolidWorks models for several HiTec servos and a few nitro engines. What CAD format do you need and what specifically are you looking for?
    Salute!

    Chevelle
    http://www.vintageaerocraft.com

  7. #7
    Moderator BMatthews's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Chilliwack, BC, CANADA
    Posts
    11,980
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: CAD motors, servos etc

    If you've got specific servos it's well worth the time to CAD them up yourself. They don't need to be fancy with filleted corners and such. Just simple blocky things with the wheel and mounting wings that are correctly sized. That's the beauty of CAD. You can have things hanging in air that are effectively attached thanks to the ability to form groups of objects into one item.

    With a servo and calipers in hand if it takes you more than 5 to 7 minutes to CAD in a blocky simplified shape that can serve as a servo for sizing then you need to turn in your mouse...
    Witty saying to be plagarized shortly.....

  8. #8

    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Mohave Valley, AZ
    Posts
    168
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: CAD motors, servos etc

    That is where my problem lies. I am not sure which servos or motors I will use, but I know that they will not be something that I have. Most motors have specs regarding diameter ands length which is enough to start. Servo specs give overall height, but not distances abover and below the mount

  9. #9

    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Fairport, NY,
    Posts
    761
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: CAD motors, servos etc

    Ok, then try this. HiTec, like most servo companies, provides outline dimensions online. I usually get all my HiTec servos from ServoCity and they provide the whole line online. That helps me work out what my dimensions will be. Good enough for approximations. Now that I have several servos modeled, I usually pick from those and so I usually don't need to model another servo for the next project.

    Motors are a different story. (Are we talking motors or engines.) Our club is very supportive of it members. Whenever I think I might want to use a particular engine, I send out an email and if a club member has that engine, they usually lend it to me for an evening so I can model it. I'm in good standing with the LHS and for very special cases, they have even lent me a new engine to model.
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Lj23156.jpg 
Views:	5 
Size:	64.6 KB 
ID:	1798014   Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Rm36994.jpg 
Views:	3 
Size:	90.5 KB 
ID:	1798015   Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Ot48863.jpg 
Views:	4 
Size:	33.3 KB 
ID:	1798016   Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Wq41746.jpg 
Views:	5 
Size:	32.1 KB 
ID:	1798017   Click image for larger version. 

Name:	It10125.jpg 
Views:	6 
Size:	41.1 KB 
ID:	1798018  

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Sj72223.jpg 
Views:	5 
Size:	36.1 KB 
ID:	1798019   Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Gi84494.jpg 
Views:	5 
Size:	45.8 KB 
ID:	1798020  
    Salute!

    Chevelle
    http://www.vintageaerocraft.com

  10. #10
    Iron Dog's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Sacramento, CA
    Posts
    777
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: CAD motors, servos etc

    My god, Chevelle, those are gorgeous!
    WARNING: High-nitro fumes cause an unusual form of mental debilitation resulting in excess expenditures on racing airplanes.

  11. #11

    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Mohave Valley, AZ
    Posts
    168
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: CAD motors, servos etc


    ORIGINAL: Iron Dog

    My god, Chevelle, those are gorgeous!*
    I agree.
    I am using TurboCad, and usually stop at drwaing a plan.

  12. #12

    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Fairport, NY,
    Posts
    761
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: CAD motors, servos etc


    ORIGINAL: DwightMann

    Is there any source for CAD drawings of servos or motors? The last thing that I want is to spend several hours designing and building aplane only to find out that I need to hack the cowl or that the servos don't fit. It would also allow me to make my servo and motor mounts before they are in the plane
    Ijust re-read your post. What I missed the first time was, "to spend several hours designing and building..." Idon't think I can help you. For simple projects, Itake months doing just the CAD work and then a year or more to build the project. Complex projects can take more than a year in just the design work.

    On the Hudson Flier project, it took two years to do the full scale CAD work and then two years to build the full scale plane. It took another six months to do the design again at 1/4 scale and a year to build that. OK. That's certainly not typical.

    I don't look at the CAD work as something to be used to get things close and then build. The CADmodel is the first build. The construction is the second. For the Hudson Flier, both the full scale and 1/4 scale model came in right on the button as far as weight and CG. There were no "aw crap, this part doesn't fit." It was new for the restoration shop. They starting building the undercarriage and I started to get calls that the parts didn't fit. They assured me that they were made to the print. After spending some time with them, I showed them that the parts did indeed all line up and you could practically drop the bolt into the perfectly aligned holes in all the mating parts.

    I'd much rather scape the electrons on the screen than the parts in the real thing. Use the Force. It is addicting once you see what you can do with it. I haven't used TurboCAD is a long time but Iunderstand that it has a 3D component. I recommend that you get on the band wagon.

    Best of luck.

    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Rp43520.jpg 
Views:	4 
Size:	50.1 KB 
ID:	1798480   Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Pk30896.jpg 
Views:	4 
Size:	491.9 KB 
ID:	1798481   Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Ot48902.jpg 
Views:	4 
Size:	338.7 KB 
ID:	1798482   Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Zt53002.jpg 
Views:	8 
Size:	321.9 KB 
ID:	1798483  
    Salute!

    Chevelle
    http://www.vintageaerocraft.com

  13. #13
    Moderator BMatthews's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Chilliwack, BC, CANADA
    Posts
    11,980
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: CAD motors, servos etc

    I doubt any of us will look at CAD renderings of that sort again without giving a thought to the hours that go into such a project.

    As for the CAD servos and such I can't offer anything other than to use what you have or buy what you think you'll need so that you can model them correctly. Some of this stuff is out there but as the products we use are constantly superceded by new ones the CAD files become outdated other than to those of us with stocks of the old servos and motors that we still have and still use. If you find what you want then great, but in the end buying the servos and motor ahead of doing the design work is not a bad option if you are going to use them in the eventual build.
    Witty saying to be plagarized shortly.....

  14. #14

    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Simpsonville, SC
    Posts
    62
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: CAD motors, servos etc

    Try Grabcad.com


Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:08 PM.

SEO by vBSEO 3.6.1 ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.