Community
Search
Notices
Scratch Building, Aircraft Design, 3D/CAD If you are starting/building a project from scratch or want to discuss design, CAD or even share 3D design images this is the place. Q&A's.

Producing Plans

Search this Thread

Old 09-24-2012, 05:41 PM
retransit
My Feedback: (18)

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Producing Plans

I've been in this hobby for many years, but I have never scratch-built anything. I have plenty of experience with plans-built aircraft, kits, and so forth, but I have never drawn a set of plans. I want to build a Boeing Model 40 biplane at 1/4 or 1/5 scale. I have yet to decide on which scale I will use. The scale will determine the size of the radial engine and there are a few out there that can do the job.

I have plenty of large paper to do the job. Does anyone have suggestions on how to progress?

Bob
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	Qo41387.jpg
Views:	33
Size:	33.1 KB
ID:	1804658  
Old 09-24-2012, 05:51 PM
Laird SS

Default RE: Producing Plans

Get a good set of 3-view drawings and lots of photo documentation.
Old 09-24-2012, 05:54 PM
retransit

I've got some detailed enlarged Nye drawings of the aircraft and a couple of videos and pictures of Addison Pemberton's rebuild of a Model 40. What's next?

Bob
Old 09-24-2012, 06:13 PM
All Day Dan
My Feedback: (5)

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts

Scan them in to your computer and import them in to a CAD program. Use lines, circles, polylines, etc. to trace over the three views. When you're done, scale the drawing up to the size you want. Make the modifications to get the structure you'll need. Dan.
Old 09-24-2012, 06:48 PM
All Day Dan

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts

Bob, here's the website where I got a good set of three views for a model I designed and built.
http://www.markkaiser.com/japaneseaviation/hien.html

I drew the plans up in AutoCad. Ill attach the fuselage side view and a shot of the model ready to go. Dan.

Name:	Eb86821.jpg
Views:	37