Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Scratch Building, Aircraft Design, 3D/CAD
Reload this Page >

Why do you build and or scratch build?

Notices
Scratch Building, Aircraft Design, 3D/CAD If you are starting/building a project from scratch or want to discuss design, CAD or even share 3D design images this is the place. Q&A's.

Why do you build and or scratch build?

Old 11-20-2012, 04:51 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Why do you build and or scratch build?

Preface:

As I sit here preparing for the start of another day, the thought occurred to me:
Why do some modelers go the next step and chose to build? “Build” in this case defined as kit building, kit bashing and ultimately building from scratch.

I have NO experience with RTF or ARF and the like airplanes. I did “inherit” a Tower Trainer 40 ARF from my Pop’s airplanes when he died, oh and an .09 Magnum powered “SchoolBoy”, also a RTF trainer. The only thing done with either of the two airplanes was to break in the .09. I am sure they both will fly. Some folks must go the ARF/RTF route because of breathing issues, as was the reason my Pop had to go the ARF/RTF path. I have a Malibu 40 kit he started and asked me to finish when he learned the epoxy, CA glue and paint was too much for him to be around. That is not the kind of modeler I am thinking about.

Suitability was never in question. I have no question they both are “airworthy” and safe within the parameters of the AMA Safety Code.

I have been a part of AMA off and on since 1984, after all the AMA has kept the US Government from declaring us all “potential terrorists” even in 2011. Joining AMA has little to do with the “liability insurance”, it is about community to me and insurance is a side benefit. I join even when I don’t belong to a club.