Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

Birch veneer skins for a foam wing?

I'm going to try to cover my foam wing cores with birch veneer (10 mil paper backed) from Woodcraft. The wing has no balsa leading edge (will try to wrap around the leading edge) but has a rather blunt leading edge. I will steam the leading edge area of the veneer with a steam iron (i have some experience steam bending wood for acoustic guitars). Any thoughts, ideas? Also what is the strongest contact cement around?

This veneer is roughly .025", which is slightly thinner than 1/32. I know it will be heavier than balsa, but I'm too lazy to glue 4" sheets of balsa for a 20" wide wing.

Thanks

Jeff
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Tr51294.jpg 
Views:	43 
Size:	130.3 KB 
ID:	1837255  

Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

RE: Birch veneer skins for a foam wing?

From the historical perspective, 1/64 birch plywood rather than 1/32 was sometimes used rather than balsa sheeting. I'd be concerned that you are doubling the weight of an otherwise fairly weighty process.

As to adhesives. I've used sorghum contact adhesive and 3M spray adhesive and liked the 3M by far the best. Brush on contact adhesive is difficult to put on while spreading just enough to do the job. Spray adhesive on the other hand is very easy to put on lightly and holds very well. One must find the right formula however that doesn't attack foam.