Scratch Building, Aircraft Design, 3D/CAD If you are starting/building a project from scratch or want to discuss design, CAD or even share 3D design images this is the place. Q&A's.

Sideways mounted srevos

Reply
Old 01-22-2013, 08:17 PM
  #1
a70eliminator
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: mogadore, OH
Posts: 473
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Sideways mounted srevos

I feel kinda newby asking this but here goes anyhow.
If I follow the plan and mount my aileron servos sideways in the wing how do I acess the mounting screws? The servo resides between two wing ribs boxed in with an acess cover, it pretty tight and I'm trying to come up with a way to mount it, theres absolutely no way to get at the screws once the servo is in position, ideas? I guess I could screw the servo to the hardwood rails then glue the rails and servo in together.
a70eliminator is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2013, 08:27 PM
  #2
FlyerInOKC
 
FlyerInOKC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Oklahoma City, OK
Posts: 8,303
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Sideways mounted srevos

Better to ask then screw something up!
Epoxy to maple or basswood blocks to the access panel and mount the servo to them. Make sure the panel screws to hardwood not balsa. When you remove the panel the servo goes with it and the screws can be easily reached. Top Flite and SIG both use this method in their kits.
FlyerInOKC is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2013, 03:09 AM
  #3
a70eliminator
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: mogadore, OH
Posts: 473
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Sideways mounted srevos

Thanks! sounds like a plan, servos I've done were always verticle with horns exposed.
Attaching the controls to the horn, cables landed within the pocket between the ribs, may be a challenge though.
I may have to completely re-do the rod routing, I'll try and get pics tonight so you can better visualize thanks again,
Scratch building is sooo much fun lolo.
Ok I think just figured out a solution! Must I also install an access hatch on the bottom of the wing to connect the rods?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Mk26845.jpg
Views:	10
Size:	53.9 KB
ID:	1843438   Click image for larger version

Name:	Pk29465.jpg
Views:	13
Size:	50.6 KB
ID:	1843439   Click image for larger version

Name:	Bg92225.jpg
Views:	11
Size:	52.3 KB
ID:	1843440  
a70eliminator is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2013, 05:47 AM
  #4
Live Wire
 
Live Wire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Sterling , CO
Posts: 6,059
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Sideways mounted srevos

If you are useing 2 servos, I would move them out and eliminate the bell cranks. What plane and kit is this
Live Wire is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2013, 06:49 AM
  #5
FlyerInOKC
 
FlyerInOKC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Oklahoma City, OK
Posts: 8,303
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Sideways mounted srevos

Larry is right dump the bell cranks and connect directly with the servos. You will get better control and eleminate a big headache!
FlyerInOKC is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2013, 07:03 AM
  #6
flyinwalenda
 
flyinwalenda's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Northeast, PA
Posts: 3,767
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Sideways mounted srevos

Another vote to ditch the bell-cranks. Those in the pic also look to have nyrod too.
As stated already, move the servos out into the wing and either make a cover plate and attach the servo to the cover :

Or make a plate and mount the servo and plate into the wing and make a cover for the opening:

flyinwalenda is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2013, 07:11 AM
  #7
john josey
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: glasgow, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 977
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Sideways mounted srevos


Quote:
ORIGINAL: FlyerInOKC

Larry is right dump the bell cranks and connect directly with the servos. You will get better control and eleminate a big headache!
As the guy's say, a direct connection is the best way to do it.

But a solution to your original question are these -
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Lj22228.jpg
Views:	5
Size:	26.0 KB
ID:	1843487  
john josey is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2013, 08:50 AM
  #8
FlyerInOKC
 
FlyerInOKC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Oklahoma City, OK
Posts: 8,303
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Sideways mounted srevos

Looking at your picture the plans are really yellowed so this is an old kit. Back in the bad old days a servo was $50 to $60 so they used bell cranks because two servos was too expensive. Now days you can buy two higher quality servos for less than the cost of the older not as good servos.
FlyerInOKC is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2013, 08:52 AM
  #9
a70eliminator
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: mogadore, OH
Posts: 473
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Sideways mounted srevos

Thanks for all the photos! The plans are showing the belcrank for the flaps, but yes the ailerons also have belcranks as there is only 1 servo for ailerons and 1 for flaps, the plane is a Gull Wing design by Fallandy 80's vintage.
a70eliminator is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2013, 10:10 AM
  #10
FlyerInOKC
 
FlyerInOKC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Oklahoma City, OK
Posts: 8,303
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Sideways mounted srevos


Quote:
ORIGINAL: a70eliminator

Thanks for all the photos! The plans are showing the belcrank for the flaps, but yes the ailerons also have belcranks as there is only 1 servo for ailerons and 1 for flaps, the plane is a Gull Wing design by Fallandy 80's vintage.

Now days as cheap as cheap as servos are I have one for each aileron and flap, one for the rudder, elevator, rudder, and throttle. If applicable I will also have servos for retracts, landing lights, and Navigation lights upto 7 channels.
FlyerInOKC is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2013, 12:13 PM
  #11
a70eliminator
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: mogadore, OH
Posts: 473
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Sideways mounted srevos

I do have plenty of servos for this project, I like to build it light as possible but I am thinking about two servos, it's not too late to pull those flex rods although I think for this plane one servo would be fine as it's far from the aerobatic stuntmaster and I'm a novice too.
a70eliminator is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2013, 06:08 PM
  #12
a70eliminator
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: mogadore, OH
Posts: 473
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Sideways mounted srevos

I have the srevos set up in the wing like all your photos depict, I did use 4 servos 2 aileron and 2 flaps so all the clumsy belcranks are eliminated. i have run into another snag with the flaps, my gold fg series futaba does not have end point adjustments on ch's 6-7, I'm having trouble because for the servo arm to portrude out of the wing slot it has to be quite long which results in double the travel I need, a small servo wheel puts the control way low below the slot? Any work around ideas would be appreciated thanks.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Pn36902.jpg
Views:	6
Size:	46.7 KB
ID:	1845810   Click image for larger version

Name:	Sn42391.jpg
Views:	6
Size:	45.6 KB
ID:	1845811   Click image for larger version

Name:	Gl20873.jpg
Views:	5
Size:	56.2 KB
ID:	1845812   Click image for larger version

Name:	Oh14019.jpg
Views:	7
Size:	45.2 KB
ID:	1845813   Click image for larger version

Name:	Yj64003.jpg
Views:	4
Size:	58.7 KB
ID:	1845814   Click image for larger version

Name:	Tk76038.jpg
Views:	5
Size:	266.0 KB
ID:	1845815  
a70eliminator is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2013, 03:33 AM
  #13
CHassan
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: MainevilleOH
Posts: 1,292
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Sideways mounted srevos

Longer control horn on the flap.
CHassan is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2013, 08:30 AM
  #14
john josey
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: glasgow, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 977
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Sideways mounted srevos

Make an extention that bolts to your servo disc. I'll post this pic to give you an idea.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Ge94618.jpg
Views:	6
Size:	52.5 KB
ID:	1846023  
john josey is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2013, 04:50 PM
  #15
a70eliminator
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: mogadore, OH
Posts: 473
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Sideways mounted srevos

Thats a nice trick, although my isssue is just the opposite. I have a old FG gold series 7ch non computer radio, it does has mixing and dual rates, but not on channel 6 or 7 where all you have is a slider that looks exactly like the trims, the travel from full up to full down is way too much as I get full swing of my flaps at about half the travel of the slider even with my longest control horn on the flap.
a70eliminator is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2013, 08:39 PM
  #16
HighPlains
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Over da rainbow, KS
Posts: 5,082
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Sideways mounted srevos

Quote:
Now days you can buy two higher quality servos for less than the cost of the older not as good servos.
You can buy an entire 6 channel computer radio for the cost of a single servo from 1970.
HighPlains is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2013, 09:36 PM
  #17
a70eliminator
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: mogadore, OH
Posts: 473
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Sideways mounted srevos


Quote:
ORIGINAL: HighPlains

Quote:
Now days you can buy two higher quality servos for less than the cost of the older not as good servos.
You can buy an entire 6 channel computer radio for the cost of a single servo from 1970.
Lol aint that the truth.
I got it sorted out, just used the smallest drive wheel nd the largest control horn and all it's comfortable now.

Ps I love my fp-t7fg/k transmitter and just can't seem to let go of it, yea there's quite a few thibngs it can't do without human input and i'll probably never get that far adavanced to where i need anything else cheap or not, i'm kinda stuck in 1970.


a70eliminator is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2013, 09:38 PM
  #18
dreadnaut
 
dreadnaut's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Oceanside, CA
Posts: 1,217
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Sideways mounted srevos

Aileron belcranks came from the days when radio control, and servos were expensive.. I use two aileron servos and mount them to openings I cut int he ribs, then double with 1/8" lite ply. I put holes in adjacent ribs that line up with the mounting screws that I can insert a jewelers screwdriver into. The down side is that you need to cut the covering away to insert the screwdriver if you need to replace a servo, but not that big a deal.
dreadnaut is offline  
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 04:39 AM.