Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Scratch Building, Aircraft Design, 3D/CAD
Reload this Page >

Question from a complete newbie

Community
Search
Notices
Scratch Building, Aircraft Design, 3D/CAD If you are starting/building a project from scratch or want to discuss design, CAD or even share 3D design images this is the place. Q&A's.

Question from a complete newbie

Search this Thread

Old 09-15-2003, 09:11 PM
seiran01

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Question from a complete newbie

Hi, I've been building model aircraft for years now (the plastic scale ones not RC) and I want to build a large-scale model of some sort of warbird. I'm talking here of maybe the 3.5-5.5 foot wingspan range as a large static model, not flyable. My logic is to find dimensionally accurate rc plans and use them to build this static thingie and detail the hell out of it, so my question is this: Where are good places to find accurate warbird (any era) plans or schematics in said size? I basically want the most accurate plans I can find of preferably WWII axis aircraft or anything else that looks cool (an a-4 skyhawk for example)

a huge thanks in advance,
Mike Swinburne
Old 09-15-2003, 09:20 PM
William Robison
My Feedback: (3)

Received 14 Likes on 13 Posts
Default RE: Question from a complete newbie

Mike:

Very few R/C planes are accurately scaled, compromises are almost always made for flying ability.

If you want a true scale static model, just find a three view of the plane you want to do, scale it to the size you want, and start hacking styrofoam to make it.

Bill.
Old 09-16-2003, 01:31 AM
BMatthews

Received 22 Likes on 19 Posts

A lot of the structure and building techniques may be new to you if you use a flying model set of plans. Also the need for many tools and setups that you'll never use again will frustrate you and cost significant money.