Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Results 1 to 15 of 15

  1. #1
    All Day Dan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    MANHATTAN BEACH, CA
    Posts
    3,537
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    AutoCAD Windows Compatibility

    I have been using AutoCAD 14 for many years in different versions of Windows. The latest version is XP. Now, AutoCAD 14 is not compatible with the newer versions of Windows and I understand the Microsoft will no longer be supporting XP due to its difficulty of working with the new versions format. I only need a two dimensional version like AutoCAD LT but I still have my old computer. What are my options? Should I stick it out with my old computer and 14or trash them and go with the latest Windows and LT? Dan
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	MACCHICAD1.jpg 
Views:	85 
Size:	268.9 KB 
ID:	1919275  
    Dan

  2. #2
    I have the same problem, I am going to hang on to XP till it stops! I am hoping to go to ACAD 2012 and pick up the solid modeling! But I need to go to a newer Microsoft Windows, like double your fun!! HUH!!! My pocket is not that deep!
    Kits: F11C-2 1:4, Do-24T 1:8, P-3 1:10, Howard 500 1:5, XFY-1 1:4, SR-9 1:4, V-22 1:6, B-25J 1:4, F+W C3603 1:5, B314 1:11, DHC-4 1:10

  3. #3
    All Day Dan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    MANHATTAN BEACH, CA
    Posts
    3,537
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback
    Thanks Loud. There must be a lot of guys with the same problem. Dan.
    Dan

  4. #4
    kenh3497's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Rockwell, IA
    Posts
    934
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback
    I just bought a new 'puter with W8 on it. That is another whoooole story........ I downloaded DraftSight and it is fully compatable with W8. I'm told DS has the same commands a ACAD. DS is a free download so to try, is the right price. This comes from somebody that knows less than nothing about CAD. I was sucesfull in using DS to trace over drawings of a Kraft Super Fly and am currently in the (1/4 scale) build mode.

    Ken

    http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showthread.php?t=1956662
    Sent from my Dry-Erase-Board

  5. #5
    All Day Dan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    MANHATTAN BEACH, CA
    Posts
    3,537
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback
    Ken, At this point in my life, I'm in no mood to to learn a new Windows and/or Cad program. Thanks anyway. I may be forced into it. Dan.
    Dan

  6. #6
    Banned
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    San Diego, CA
    Posts
    2,670
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback
    " I am going to hang on to XP till it stops!"

    That's what I did, BUT. The last time I had it repaired, and the system re installed, they talked me into installing the 32 bit system, and bye bye my Autocad. Been crying ever since.

    Les

  7. #7
    All Day Dan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    MANHATTAN BEACH, CA
    Posts
    3,537
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback
    Les, that's my biggest concern. Dan.
    Dan

  8. #8
    kenh3497's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Rockwell, IA
    Posts
    934
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback
    Draft sight is supposed to have the same commands as ACAD so the learning curve should be gentle. Free down load so give it a try. Nothing ventured, nothing gained.....


    Here we go again..... I have to re-log in to post a reply. I guess back to RCG that works without frustration.
    Sent from my Dry-Erase-Board

  9. #9
    DaveP's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Salem, SC
    Posts
    105
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback
    I run ACAD 14 on my Windows 7 Pro machine using Microsoft's free Virtual PC software. Check out Microsoft's Windows XP Mode page, http://windows.microsoft.com/en-us/w...e-in-windows-7 It sets up a virtual computer in software in which you have WinXP and can install and run ACAD14.

    ACAD 14 runs just like it should, but I still usually use my older XP machine for ACAD work since it's in my shop/mancave.

    Googling "microsoft xp virtual PC" might help, and offers some hope of installing on Windows 8, though I've not tried that.

    -Dave

  10. #10
    All Day Dan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    MANHATTAN BEACH, CA
    Posts
    3,537
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback
    Dave, thanks for the input. It may be necessary to use something called Hyper-V in Windows 8. I'll find out when my computer dies for good. Dan.
    Dan

  11. #11
    Roguedog's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Norco, CA
    Posts
    897
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback
    Draftsight is a clone of Autocad Lt 2009 as far as my comparison. It uses the exact same commands and short cuts.

    I use Autocad 2009 and i can open Draftsight files in Autocad and Autocad 2009 files in Draftsight. They both recognize that you are opening a file that is created by another program but you can edit them easily in you want.

    If you use Autocad 14 you should be able to open up all of your Acad 14 files in Draftsight without any problems.

    The main difference with Draftsight is it does not have the advance 3d commands of Autocad. It does have the same 3d view commands just not the advanced commands. So it is basically a 2d Cad program that uses the Autocad command structure.

    It also has a why smaller footprint than Autocad. You should give it a try, might be perfect for you as it is free. There is also a comprehensive tutorials and a forum on the Draftsight website.
    Last edited by Roguedog; 10-01-2013 at 02:11 AM.
    Anything is possible if you don't know what you are talking about.

  12. #12
    dreadnaut's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Oceanside, CA
    Posts
    1,215
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback
    I have a pretty fast machine running W98 that has my copy of ACAD 2000. It is behind the "ultimate firewall" (no connection to the internet, or any network other than temporary cabling to xfr large files) I intend to hold onto it and keep it running until it dies, or I do. Take that, Mr. Gates!
    Cali is a city in Colombia
    I\'\'m from California.

  13. #13
    All Day Dan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    MANHATTAN BEACH, CA
    Posts
    3,537
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback
    Rogue, That Draftsight looks like a nice fit. It is definitely worth a try. Thanks, Dan.
    Dan

  14. #14
    All Day Dan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    MANHATTAN BEACH, CA
    Posts
    3,537
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback
    Rogue, I downloaded Draftsight and, like you said, it is compatible with the AutoCAD I am using. What a relief. I am now ready for Microsoft's next move whatever it may be. Thank you for this very helpful and important piece of information. Dan.
    Dan

  15. #15
    Roguedog's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Norco, CA
    Posts
    897
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback
    Dan,

    Glad I could help!

    Bryan
    Anything is possible if you don't know what you are talking about.


Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:46 PM.

SEO by vBSEO 3.6.1 ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.