Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Scratch Building, Aircraft Design, 3D/CAD
Reload this Page >

AutoCAD Windows Compatibility

Notices
Scratch Building, Aircraft Design, 3D/CAD If you are starting/building a project from scratch or want to discuss design, CAD or even share 3D design images this is the place. Q&A's.

AutoCAD Windows Compatibility

Old 09-11-2013, 02:41 PM
All Day Dan
My Feedback: (5)

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Default AutoCAD Windows Compatibility

I have been using AutoCAD 14 for many years in different versions of Windows. The latest version is XP. Now, AutoCAD 14 is not compatible with the newer versions of Windows and I understand the Microsoft will no longer be supporting XP due to its difficulty of working with the new versions format. I only need a two dimensional version like AutoCAD LT but I still have my old computer. What are my options? Should I stick it out with my old computer and 14or trash them and go with the latest Windows and LT? Dan
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	MACCHICAD1.jpg
Views:	104
Size:	268.9 KB
ID:	1919275  
Old 09-11-2013, 02:49 PM
ByLoudDesign

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

I have the same problem, I am going to hang on to XP till it stops! I am hoping to go to ACAD 2012 and pick up the solid modeling! But I need to go to a newer Microsoft Windows, like double your fun!! HUH!!! My pocket is not that deep!
Old 09-11-2013, 02:51 PM
All Day Dan

Thanks Loud. There must be a lot of guys with the same problem. Dan.
Old 09-26-2013, 11:28 AM
kenh3497

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

I just bought a new 'puter with W8 on it. That is another whoooole story........ I downloaded DraftSight and it is fully compatable with W8. I'm told DS has the same commands a ACAD. DS is a free download so to try, is the right price. This comes from somebody that knows less than nothing about CAD. I was sucesfull in using DS to trace over drawings of a Kraft Super Fly and am currently in the (1/4 scale) build mode.