Scratch Building, Aircraft Design, 3D/CAD If you are starting/building a project from scratch or want to discuss design, CAD or even share 3D design images this is the place. Q&A's.

Missing autocad drawings

Reply
Old 02-28-2014, 01:54 PM
  #1
F86_SABRE
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Malta, MALTA
Posts: 1,461
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Missing autocad drawings

Hi,
I am using Autocad 2007 and was tracing a drawing. I shifted the whole folder to another harddisk and opened the file again. The tif drawings that were previously saved went missing and instead I got a link instead of the drawing. Traced autocad lines were saved and are shown.

How can one reinstate these missing drawings in their existing location. I am enclosing an image showing what I mean.


Your help will be most welcomed!


With thanks


Reuben
F86_SABRE is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2014, 01:59 PM
  #2
F86_SABRE
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Malta, MALTA
Posts: 1,461
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	MISSING DRAWING.jpg
Views:	94
Size:	167.2 KB
ID:	1973518  
F86_SABRE is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2014, 03:15 PM
  #3
ByLoudDesign
 
ByLoudDesign's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Mesa, AZ
Posts: 1,418
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Go to "Insert"/ Image Manager". You should see that it says "Not Found" . High light it, its old address should be seen in "Image Found At;" to the right of this line you should see "Browse" and go the images address where it can be found and double click it. The address in the "Image Found At;" should change to where you have it now. Enter "Save" found to the right of the "Browse", this saves the new location. Now hit "Reload". If you have other images repeat the routine!
ByLoudDesign is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2014, 03:35 PM
  #4
F86_SABRE
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Malta, MALTA
Posts: 1,461
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Thanks....will give it a shot
Much obliged
F86_SABRE is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2014, 03:59 PM
  #5
F86_SABRE
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Malta, MALTA
Posts: 1,461
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Are the details you mentioned pertaining to Autocad 2007? The paths do not seem to be the same.
F86_SABRE is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2014, 04:09 PM
  #6
F86_SABRE
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Malta, MALTA
Posts: 1,461
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

I clicked right hand mouse button on the missing drawing/ Image/External References. The enclosed image is what I got. Tried reloading same file but will not load
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	MISSING DRAWING 2.jpg
Views:	57
Size:	366.2 KB
ID:	1973528  
F86_SABRE is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2014, 04:46 PM
  #7
ByLoudDesign
 
ByLoudDesign's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Mesa, AZ
Posts: 1,418
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Following the instruction I gave you, you need to re-establish the location of each of the images that say "Not Found". Are the images still on your computer somewhere? If so go there for each image!
ByLoudDesign is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2014, 11:15 PM
  #8
F86_SABRE
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Malta, MALTA
Posts: 1,461
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

I can manually import them again as a new raster into the framed location than adjust the rotational angle again. However I cannot make it done automatically via the program itself. Will give it a shot again later this morning. Thanks for taking the time to assist me!
F86_SABRE is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2014, 07:41 AM
  #9
ByLoudDesign
 
ByLoudDesign's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Mesa, AZ
Posts: 1,418
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Do you know where the files are at? Go to your root directory and do a search! then follow the procedure for each image. I have to do it a lot when I move a drawing, it work!

Go to "Insert"/ Image Manager". You should see that it says "Not Found" . High light it, its old address should be seen in "Image Found At;" to the right of this line you should see "Browse" and go the images address where it can be found and double click it. The address in the "Image Found At;" should change to where you have it now. Enter "Save" found to the right of the "Browse", this saves the new location. Now hit "Reload". If you have other images repeat the routine!
ByLoudDesign is offline  
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 12:53 AM.