Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Scratch Building, Aircraft Design, 3D/CAD
Reload this Page >

Will aluminum fuselage interfere with electronics

Community
Search
Notices
Scratch Building, Aircraft Design, 3D/CAD If you are starting/building a project from scratch or want to discuss design, CAD or even share 3D design images this is the place. Q&A's.

Will aluminum fuselage interfere with electronics

Search this Thread

Old 04-03-2014, 02:37 PM
allmetal plane
My Feedback: (1)

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gtlbYwMD9qI

As fas as I am concerned, I never had problems with metal despite all the talk going on here, Again, and I am sorry, I don't have time to explain the hows. It's not my cup of tea... I just did lots of homework and a lot of experimenting
Old 04-03-2014, 03:48 PM
speedracerntrixie
My Feedback: (29)

Received 176 Likes on 151 Posts

Ok to make things perfectly clear here. Aircraft antennas is what I do for a living, it's how I support my wife and 4 teenagers. I not only work on the production floor but I work closely with Engineers helping them develop new antennas and enhanced versions of what we currently produce. I really wish I could get into details but that magical word " classified " comes into play. IMO the question is not will aluminum affect a signal it is more of how much. Obviously there are examples that prove that in most cases it does not have enough of an affect to make the model unreliable. This has softened my stance somewhat. I do still believe that each airplane that has a significant amount of metal needs to have an additional layer of range checks. Anyone in the RF industry will tell you that microwave tech can be a funny thing at times. Example. How many of us have had a cell phone call suddenly drop? I think everyone would say yes to that one. How many of us would notice that we have had more dropped calls while driving? Personally I know that If I'm on the phone when I drive by the airport it's