Community
Search
Notices
Scratch Building, Aircraft Design, 3D/CAD If you are starting/building a project from scratch or want to discuss design, CAD or even share 3D design images this is the place. Q&A's.

Foamy flying wing

Search this Thread

Old 01-02-2015, 08:24 PM
dayot538

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Foamy flying wing

Fellas,
I'm staring down the barrel of the next two months of my millwright apprenticeship and I'm bored already. So what did I do? I put on some bowie and daydreamed about riding a rocket rhinoceros millennium falcon in space for a bit, then pondered what a Martian Patrick Swazey might look like, then I settled on building a foam flying wing with the goal of turning it into a uav someday. Some background:
I've never built anything like this before, nor flown an rc plane ever. In fact, when I finish this, i'm not going to admit I built it because rc planes are for nerds. When my friends found out I was driving a fiat 500 to work, I had to take the biggest guy in the company out to the parking lot and let him call it names for 15 minutes. To this day, they think I'm the kind of fellow who goes home and kicks back with a pug in his lap.

I hate pugs.

I like the Vought V-173, so I'm working in that direction, but in the mean time, i'm going to start with a nice flying vee NACA 0016, maybe 36". I also know dick all about radio control electronics, so help a brother out, won't you?