Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Scratch Building, Aircraft Design, 3D/CAD
Reload this Page >

North American T-6F Texan 62" 1/8 Scale

Community
Search
Notices
Scratch Building, Aircraft Design, 3D/CAD If you are starting/building a project from scratch or want to discuss design, CAD or even share 3D design images this is the place. Q&A's.

North American T-6F Texan 62" 1/8 Scale

Search this Thread

Old 06-10-2016, 01:03 AM
onewonders

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default North American T-6F Texan 62" 1/8 Scale

This is my first build log for my first build from plans only. I've just started in the hobby, four months ago with a Great Planes Easy Sport 40 Balsa Kit. I had an absolute blast. I started flying RC four weeks ago.
Last year I flew in a full size Harvard, with the pilots from the Canadian Harvard Aircraft Association. After 30 minutes, a Half Cuban and barrel roll I was hooked.
So for my second build I have chosen the Harvard. I know this is a T-6F but close enough. I will finish it in the same colour and number scheme as the plane I flew in.
The plans were downloaded from Aerofred.com, the design is Al Holmes from 1972.
This won't be easy, I will be taking it slow. Besides, it is flying season!
I bought some wood last night, the plans are printed (100% perfect), I have lots of #11 blades and other tools, ready to start cutting.
So I hope you are prepared to answer lots of questions. I will post successes and failures. I learn from failures/mistakes and am not afraid to try.
Oh it is designed for .60cu in or larger but I will electrocute the plane.
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	DSCF0058.JPG
Views:	245
Size:	2.57 MB
ID:	2167106   Click image for larger version

Name:	DSCF0065.JPG
Views:	148
Size:	2.58 MB
ID:	2167107   Click image for larger version

Name:	DSCF0081.JPG
Views:	175
Size:	2.65 MB
ID:	2167108  
Old 06-30-2016, 08:37 PM
Hawkeye
My Feedback: (27)