Community
Search
Notices
Scratch Building, Aircraft Design, 3D/CAD If you are starting/building a project from scratch or want to discuss design, CAD or even share 3D design images this is the place. Q&A's.

Help with Bomb Bay Doors

Search this Thread

Old 07-23-2019, 10:43 PM
WalterW3828

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Help with Bomb Bay Doors

Hello, I'm new to the world of servos and linkages but am currently working on a project that will likely involve both. I am building a concept of a delivery drone using a mutlicopter and would like to for the package to be released from the bottom of an enclosure with bomb bay styled doors. What I am trying to do, is design the linkage and servo in a way that the doors themselves hold the weight of the package, and when they are opened, the package can slide down. I am having trouble designing this, mainly because I am unsure if a servo can hold the weight of the package without being forced open, allowing the package to fall. The picture shows my current structure idea. I can build or add supports all around the aluminum angle structure to achieve this goal. However, I cannot put anything in the path of the yellow package (except the doors). Any ideas or help would be greatly appreciated.
Old 07-24-2019, 03:25 AM
RCFlyerDan
My Feedback: (54)

Received 71 Likes on 52 Posts

So? We help you design something that you hope to profit?
Old 07-24-2019, 06:53 AM
allanflowers

Received 41 Likes on 31 Posts

You should consider the idea of a LATCH on the doors (independent of the operating servo) which would release them to open. Another idea is to look at OVER-CENTER mechanisms which could resist opening during certain parts of the range of motion.On the profit motive, as long as you haven’t stated that you aren’t thinking of a business opportunity, I have no problems with your request for help.
Old 07-25-2019, 06:40 AM
speedracerntrixie
My Feedback: (29)

Received 176 Likes on 151 Posts

Originally Posted by RCFlyerDan