Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Scratch Building, Aircraft Design, 3D/CAD
Reload this Page >

Airfoil recommendations for aerobat

Community
Search
Notices
Scratch Building, Aircraft Design, 3D/CAD If you are starting/building a project from scratch or want to discuss design, CAD or even share 3D design images this is the place. Q&A's.

Airfoil recommendations for aerobat

Search this Thread

Old 06-29-2002, 11:57 PM
snsmith
My Feedback: (5)

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Airfoil recommendations for aerobat

I'm getting started on designing my first plane from scratch...I've finally collected enough information on the Technoavia SP-55M to be able to design a scale model. While I'm a mechanical engineer, I've spent the last 16 years designing plastic and metal components, not wings, so I'm at a bit of a loss for selecting an airfoil. I have Andy Lennon's book on R/C model design, but it really doesn't go into the practical "whys" an airfoil should be selected for a specific type of model.

The full-size airfoil for the SP-55M is very thick and blunt and (I'm guessing) probably doesn't scale down to R/C size very well. What's a good airfoil for a 22%-25% (72"-82") aerobatic airplane? What are the most important properties for an aerobatic wing? Should the wing have a consistent airfoil or would there be a benefit (to aerobatics) for different airfoils from root to tip?

I'm still debating the size of the model and may very well wind up building both sizes, the smaller first as a test. Also, I'm planning to use airfoiled tail feathers, so would a fairly simple symmetric airfoil like NACA 0012 or Eppler 168 be OK or is there something "better"?

Thanks in advance for any insight you can provide!
Old 06-30-2002, 07:40 AM
Mike James

Default Airfoils

I'm familiar with, and have used the particular airfoils you mentioned. In fact, I started using them shortly after reading Andy Lennon's articles about 10 years ago.