Community
Search
Notices
Scratch Building, Aircraft Design, 3D/CAD If you are starting/building a project from scratch or want to discuss design, CAD or even share 3D design images this is the place. Q&A's.

solidworks

Search this Thread

Old 12-01-2004, 04:30 PM
troyhm

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default solidworks

hi everyone

is there a way of drawing a three deminsion part in solidworks, then take cross section cuts at certain intervals to give the dimension of the formers. I need to create. I am only new at solidworks and havent worked out even how to do 3 demension shapes. The front former is different shape and size to the rear and I am trying to creat both out of balsawood with longerons attached to formers then covered in 1.5mm balsawood or use foam and cut out the under side of the foam as well and cover with 1.5mm balsawood. Or even trying another method I saw on here covering with brown painting paper. I will try all three to see which comes out lightest and strongest.

Thanks

Troy
Old 12-02-2004, 10:16 AM
CoosBayLumber
My Feedback: (1)

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default RE: solidworks

There is a Google group on-line for Solidworks users. I dial into a couple of the CAD grops, but not the one you need. They are slow, but helpful.

Wm.
Old 12-02-2004, 02:16 PM
jwalsh1

You may have to use a surface rather than a solid to so this, because Solidworks does not let you use the convert entities command to create a sketch of the edges in a cross section.

Create the object as a surface model and set up planes at each point you want to slice. I think you can then select one plane, and the surface and use the insert_curve_split line. This will create a sketch of the cross section that particular plane creates.

Now on second thought, try the above first with your solid model, it actually may work. Either way, the procedure is the same.

Hope this helps.
Old 12-02-2004, 02:17 PM
simark
My Feedback: (12)