Community
Search
Notices
Scratch Building, Aircraft Design, 3D/CAD If you are starting/building a project from scratch or want to discuss design, CAD or even share 3D design images this is the place. Q&A's.

How do cut your balsa?

Search this Thread

Old 03-21-2005, 11:49 AM
hnflyer

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default How do cut your balsa?

Hi

I'm new in scratch building, and i want to learn. I was wondering how do you guys cut balsa with the dremel tool, i have the reinforse fiberglass discs but i dont know how to hold the balsa so i wont cut my table.

Thanks
Old 03-21-2005, 11:57 AM
kdheath

Default RE: How do cut your balsa?

The Dremel is good for hogging out balsa blocks, cleaning up holes in things like cowls, making a little clearance in a part, trimming the ends of sticks. What sort of parts are you trying to make? That would help give a better answer.
Old 03-21-2005, 01:48 PM
BMatthews

Received 22 Likes on 19 Posts

Use a small scapel like graphic artist knife for most thin sheet parts up to about 1/4 thick. Some longer and stronger knives are then used for general carving. From there use a scroll saw if you want to go with power or a coping saw or small spine backed trimming saw if you don't mind hand sawing. The Dremel is only for hollowing out blocks on the inside.

For cutting out parts you'll want to cut over a sacrifical pad of plywood or similar. Sewing fabric self healing cutting mats work GREAT as they don't dull the tip of the blade.
Old 03-21-2005, 01:49 PM
hnflyer

I want to cut out ribs, rudders, elevator, etc.
I use my hobby knife but takes for ever to finish a part, I'm looking for another way.

Thanks
Old 03-21-2005, 01:51 PM
BMatthews

GO with a scroll saw for the bigger and thicker parts..... and find some patience. Good work takes time and attention.
Old 03-21-2005, 02:22 PM
One Eighth Air Force
My Feedback: (1)