Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Scratch Building, Aircraft Design, 3D/CAD
Reload this Page >

hand drawn plans to lazer cut parts???

Notices
Scratch Building, Aircraft Design, 3D/CAD If you are starting/building a project from scratch or want to discuss design, CAD or even share 3D design images this is the place. Q&A's.

hand drawn plans to lazer cut parts???

Old 12-02-2005, 08:31 AM
c-grain

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default hand drawn plans to lazer cut parts???

Hi fellow scratchers,I was wondering if anyone could help me understand how to take my hand drawn plans and convert them into .dwg or .dfx files so that I could get lazer cut parts of great accuracy.I've been drawing my own plans for over25 yrs.now,and I can never match the accuracy of lazer parts in any reasonable time.I can get very close sometimes when I really concentrate,but it seems that at my age it's getting harder and harder every year.Wish I could run a cad program,but have only scratched the surface.Is this task of converting from hand drawn even possible or worth it?As with almost all drawn plans there are small mistakes in the dementions and measurements.Will the conversion process correct these small mistakes or just repeat them?Any help on this subject will be greatly appreciated!
Old 12-02-2005, 08:49 AM
DICKEYBIRD

Default RE: hand drawn plans to lazer cut parts???

Unless you want to pay someone to redraw your plans in CAD to get the .dxf files, I'm afraid you're stuck with learning CAD and redrawing the plans yourself.

If you already have drafting skills, you can learn CAD. It's much easier if you choose a program that has a user friendly interface such as TurboCAD. Here's a free download of TurboCAD LE (Learning Edition) that will do just fine and doesn't cost a dime! http://www.al-ki.com/tcad/download.php#TurboCADLE

Good luck!
Old 12-02-2005, 01:31 PM
BMatthews

Received 22 Likes on 19 Posts