Notices
Scratch Building, Aircraft Design, 3D/CAD If you are starting/building a project from scratch or want to discuss design, CAD or even share 3D design images this is the place. Q&A's.

Pusher Prop dirt clearance

Old 01-04-2006, 03:56 PM
KidEpoxy

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Pusher Prop dirt clearance

What is a decent pitch angle minimum when looking at pusher prop clearing the dirt in Rotation & landing flare? I'm looking at some skid-fins (belly dorsalfin) to limit the aft going down, but was wondering how much clearance I needed for a 049~074 pusher.
Old 01-07-2006, 12:20 PM
allanflowers

Received 40 Likes on 30 Posts
Default RE: Pusher Prop dirt clearance

I'm no expert in this but, since no one else has answered, I will give you my thoughts.
I would design for a minimum of 10 degrees with a small clearance (.25") added. If you run into problems you could go to a three blade prop with a smaller diameter.
I do know that if you move the landing gear rearward to help the prop clearance issues, you may experience problems getting the plane to rotate on takeoff.
Good luck and keep us informed of how it works out.
Allan
Old 01-07-2006, 11:51 PM
KidEpoxy

Thanx, already was looking at using 3 blade to reduce the problem, but was thinking of modeling something military jet like, and it don't have a lot of ground clearance in the landing gear.
Old 01-07-2006, 11:55 PM
Tall Paul

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

If you put something at the rear to keep the prop away from the ground when the tail thingy whatever you come up with is on the ground, you should be OK.
Old 01-08-2006, 12:01 PM
allanflowers

Here's my 'military jet like' foamy design with pusher prop. I have the lasercut parts, foam for skins, AXI motor and pattern printouts, just waiting for the time to do it. It has a 10 percent angle. Done in Alias/Wavefront.
Allan
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	Qn38618.jpg
Views:	9
Size:	136.1 KB
ID:	383444   Click image for larger version