Community
Search
Notices
Scratch Building, Aircraft Design, 3D/CAD If you are starting/building a project from scratch or want to discuss design, CAD or even share 3D design images this is the place. Q&A's.

Laser Cut Parts. from Cad.

Search this Thread

Old 02-12-2006, 10:17 PM
Balsa Shavings

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Laser Cut Parts. from Cad.

Hello Fellas: I'm new to CAD programs, Just ordered Turbocad 9.2 From Overstock. Right now I'm using CADStd, That I downloaded, but I want a full featured Program. I got a couple of questions. When you design a plane in a cad program, what grid scale do you use. 1/16", 1/8", 1/4", etc. Second: Save the drawing into .dxf Format. How does the Laser cutter know what scale you used. I Know these sound like simple question but I want to know all I Can learn about CAD. And Last How In The Heck do you draw a ellipse.

Keep The Faith: Johnny[/font]
[/font]

(modified to put your text between the codes-bcm)
Old 02-13-2006, 12:38 AM
BMatthews

Received 22 Likes on 19 Posts
Default RE: Laser Cut Parts. from Cad.

First off in TurboCAD you should not be using that small a grid. I like to use 1/4 but with the appearance frequency set to 2 and bolder lines ever other one so I have a real grid of 1/4 inch and a display of a line every 1/2 inch. Any tighter and it just gets too busy looking.

For most snap operations I use the V M and N SEKE snaps more than the grid.

For saving I use the native TCW TurboCAD format. It's a compressed file so it takes up very little room. For sending stuff out after the drawing is done I just save as a dxf or dwg depending on the needs of the moment. You'll also need to find out if the printer needs the color coding so commonly used in AutoCAD drawings to designate line widths on the plotter. A little talking with them goes a long way to making it easier right from the start.