Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Scratch Building, Aircraft Design, 3D/CAD
Reload this Page >

Need advice for balsa stock purchase

Community
Search
Notices
Scratch Building, Aircraft Design, 3D/CAD If you are starting/building a project from scratch or want to discuss design, CAD or even share 3D design images this is the place. Q&A's.

Need advice for balsa stock purchase

Search this Thread

Old 01-15-2003, 02:59 PM
ZB50

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Need advice for balsa stock purchase

Hello all,

I'm new to this scratch building element and I want to make a mail order purchase of various sizes of balsa and hardwood for my shop stock. I have small balsa stripper so sticks are no problem. What advice can you provide from your experience in scratch building?

Also, Where do you guys get the best balsa for your money?

Thanks,

Jimmy
Old 01-15-2003, 05:24 PM
jcasey7703

Default Balsa Stock Purchase

I recently made my first balsa purchase. I have been reading this forum for awhile now and saw several posts on this subject. Some say Lone Star, some say Superior and others say Balsa USA. I decided to try Lone Star with my first order because their online secure ordering system seemed more convenient to me. The order got to me quickly, however I was not impressed with the quality of some of the wood and some of the dimensions. Others have said they have received good quality from Lone Star, I didn't. The other thing I didn't like was that I sent e-mail to Lone Star stating the issues I had with my order in a very much "customer feedback" tone and never received a reply. For me, I am going to try Superioir or Balsa USA next time.

Good Luck! JC
Old 01-15-2003, 10:35 PM
JohnW
My Feedback: (6)