Scratch Building, Aircraft Design, 3D/CAD If you are starting/building a project from scratch or want to discuss design, CAD or even share 3D design images this is the place. Q&A's.

HELP wingribs

Reply
Old 11-05-2006, 11:11 PM
  #1
nitro wing
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: surrey, BC, CANADA
Posts: 3,775
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default HELP wingribs

I have an Extra 300 kit with a missing rib.I have #6 and#8.For me it seems impossible to get the correct % in size to make the #7. Can anyone help please?
nitro wing is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2006, 11:53 PM
  #2
dbacque
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 1,144
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: HELP wingribs

I recently built a Sukhoi kit that had both number 2 ribs missing from the kit.

What I did was draw to accurately mark a center line on ribs 1 and 3. Draw a line on a piece of paper and align the center line of rib 1 with the line on the paper. Then trace the rib. Place rib 3 aligned with both the center line and the spar positions and trace it.

Now you have the two ribs traced on top of each other. Just pencil in rib 2 as accurately as you can between the two. It'll be plenty close enough.

Dave
dbacque is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2006, 12:10 AM
  #3
nitro wing
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: surrey, BC, CANADA
Posts: 3,775
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: HELP wingribs

Do I align the TE and LE spacing exactly the same?
nitro wing is offline  
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 05:49 PM.