Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Scratch Building, Aircraft Design, 3D/CAD
Reload this Page >

72" Profile Bipe Build Thread

Community
Search
Notices
Scratch Building, Aircraft Design, 3D/CAD If you are starting/building a project from scratch or want to discuss design, CAD or even share 3D design images this is the place. Q&A's.

72" Profile Bipe Build Thread

Search this Thread

Old 01-10-2007, 02:58 PM
ArmedZagi
My Feedback: (1)

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 72" Profile Bipe Build Thread

For a few years now, I've had the urge to get into giant scale. I've also loved the way biplanes look, but I've never owned one. I also like 3D, but I've never owned a 3D plane... It seems only logical that I should build something to cure this problem

I wanted something unique, so I decided to design my own. Now, I'm very new to CAD, in fact, this is the first set of plans I've ever made on it, so any tips or suggestions would be great. Since I'm new to it it’s hard to put my ideas onto CAD with any degree of accuracy so use you're imagination to fill in the gaps

The engine I'll be using is a 52cc chainsaw conversion. It was tached at 9000rpm+ with an old 20x10 Dynathrust prop. For servos I'll be using "Tower Pro MG995" (Ya, I had never heard of them either). They're digital and @ 6v they produce 208oz/in of torque and a speed of .13sec/60degrees. Not bad for a $15 servo. I'll be using 9 of them. 2 on the elevators, 2 on the rudder, 1 for the throttle, and one on each aileron.

There’s a number of things on the plane that will be different than what you see on the plans. For instance, the sides of the fuselage will be covered with carbon tape from the TE of the wings to the nose. The thickness and number of ribs has also been changed since I drew the plans and I don’t really feel like taking the time to change them.

I've ordered the wood and other materials for this plane and they should be in late this week or early next.