Scratch Building, Aircraft Design, 3D/CAD If you are starting/building a project from scratch or want to discuss design, CAD or even share 3D design images this is the place. Q&A's.

DIY CNC Router

Reply
Old 06-20-2007, 01:55 AM
  #1
jensn
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Hannover, GERMANY
Posts: 7
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default DIY CNC Router

Hi,

I build my own CNC Router for modell building.
You can see pictues and videos on [link=http://www.tron-cnc.de]http://www.tron-cnc.de[/link] (switch to english on the top right).

The router is quite cheap to build and is perfect for plywood and balsa and CFK.

You can buy a cheap plan as well (see onlineshop on the page).




Jens
jensn is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2007, 03:38 AM
  #2
longdan
 
longdan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Auckland, NEW ZEALAND
Posts: 831
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: DIY CNC Router

Looks really nice. Is there a reason you use 2 stepper (or are they servo?) motors for the x axis? Could you not belt drive one screw from the other?
longdan is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2007, 03:48 AM
  #3
jensn
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Hannover, GERMANY
Posts: 7
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: DIY CNC Router

There are two Stepper motors connected with a belt.
This was choosen to synchronize both motors and avoid step losses.

Might also work with a single stepper, if this is strong enough

Machine works fine, see videos on my page.

Jens
jensn is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2007, 05:31 AM
  #4
Prboz
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Timboon, Victoria, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 105
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: DIY CNC Router

I have also made a cnc router for model building. Made it up as I went along. Uses a single acme thread under the table for the X-axis. Works fine on Balsa and ply but not quite stable enough for Aluminium. The router is actually just a Dremel.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Rp43901.jpg
Views:	692
Size:	65.7 KB
ID:	707534   Click image for larger version

Name:	Id95609.jpg
Views:	120
Size:	306.6 KB
ID:	707535   Click image for larger version

Name:	Va72245.jpg
Views:	2170
Size:	373.9 KB
ID:	707536  
Prboz is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2007, 05:40 AM
  #5
Prboz
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Timboon, Victoria, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 105
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: DIY CNC Router

I have a little question. I am in Victoria Australia, would there be any interest to make parts for anybody? I built it as a project for the hell of it but would be willing to make parts for cost of materials and a bit of time. This is at present only getting interest. Thanks
Prboz is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2007, 08:55 AM
  #6
CoosBayLumber
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: San Bernardino Calif
Posts: 3,757
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: DIY CNC Router

There was a book put out and available via the Nuts and Volts magazine for building such a set up. It gave late 1990's specifications on how to build it and used a Dremel for the cutter. KCam software to drive it, and hold to build your own computer boards to control the stepper motors. Said total cost was to be less than $1000, and it could be even lower today.

Wm.
CoosBayLumber is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2007, 04:43 PM
  #7
ROOSTERLEW
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Coffeyville, KS
Posts: 83
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: DIY CNC Router

I am a member of another forum which has many of these homebuilt machines, they are rather easily built and relatively cheap.
cnczone.com
ROOSTERLEW is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2007, 10:52 PM
  #8
Prboz
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Timboon, Victoria, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 105
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: DIY CNC Router

Hi ROOSTERLEW
I am a member at cnczone as well. Excellent site and source of information for NC

Prboz
Prboz is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2007, 12:03 PM
  #9
proparc
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: na, TX
Posts: 175
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: DIY CNC Router

Jens,
What software did you use to design Tron.
proparc is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2007, 01:36 PM
  #10
jensn
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Hannover, GERMANY
Posts: 7
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: DIY CNC Router

I used Solid Works

Jens
jensn is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2007, 06:28 PM
  #11
calvino
 
calvino's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Thousand Oaks, CA
Posts: 8,958
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: DIY CNC Router

I know in a Nuts and Volts Magazine article there was a section on how to make a simple CNC milling machine that was kindof similar to what you have made. It looks like a nice money and time saver.
calvino is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2007, 02:00 PM
  #12
Furyflyer2
 
Furyflyer2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: middlesex, NJ
Posts: 2,673
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: DIY CNC Router

Nice machine here is a great free plans for a machine you can build- http://www.cnczone.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=48
Furyflyer2 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2007, 12:20 AM
  #13
roger2525
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Hayden, CO
Posts: 13
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: DIY CNC Router

Can anyone help me? I have a cnc router and alot of plans. how do i get the plans to the router. I seen alot of forms and i am lost as to what to buy for programs




Thanks Roger
roger2525 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2007, 08:54 AM
  #14
gbzflyer
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Green Bay, WI
Posts: 88
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: DIY CNC Router

Roger,
If the plans are in DXF format in your CAD program, you need a program to convert the DXF file to G Code. You then need a program to run the G Code file, which runs your CNC Machine.
Check out http://www.machsupport.com
They sell a program called LazyCam for creating the G Code and Mach 3 for running your CNC Machine.
LazyCam is still in Beta mode, but it works OK for making airplane parts. If you want a G Code program with all the bells and whistles, look into SheetCam.

If the plans are in Jpeg or Bitmap format, you need to clean them up using MS Paint, then run them through a Raster to Vector program which will save the drawing in a DXF format for your CAD program. There is a freeware program called WinTopo to do the Raster to Vector step.

Once you run the drawing through the Raster to Vector program, you will need to open the saved DXF file in your CAD program and scale it to the size you want. You will also need to clean it up, usually by overdrawing the part. The G Code program needs the DXF file to be clean with all the lines connected in order to create an accurate G Code file.
It is a bit time comsuming, but once you have the G Code created you can make as many parts as you want, all the same.

I'm in the process of scanning, cleaning up, and creating G Code files of a Nick Ziroli 101" B-25 Mitchell plan. I've been at it for a few weeks now, but I'm getting close to cutting my kit for this winter's build.

Good Luck.
Mike
gbzflyer is offline  
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 09:58 AM.