Community
Search
Notices
Scratch Building, Aircraft Design, 3D/CAD If you are starting/building a project from scratch or want to discuss design, CAD or even share 3D design images this is the place. Q&A's.

Balsa Wood Quality

Search this Thread

Old 09-11-2007, 12:45 PM
Mike Connor
My Feedback: (5)

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Balsa Wood Quality

I have been buying my wood from Balsa USA for two months now with no complaints on the quality until my last shipment. Most was good but there were a couple of pieces that were not straight. I attached a pic of one 1 1/2" x 3/8" x 36" aileron stock that when put on a flat surface I could roll a pen under the other end. I sent them an email last Friday but have not heard back from them yet. That concerns me. I spend over $100 a month with them since I sell kits.

Is it normal to get an occasional bad piece of wood and I should overlook it?
I know it can't all be perfect but I can't put this wood this bad in my kit.
I have tried LoneStar and Balsa USA. Is there anywhere else I should look for good price and quality?

Thanks
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	Ca82105.jpg
Views:	13
Size:	18.4 KB
ID:	761131   Click image for larger version

Name:	Dz80699.jpg
Views:	10
Size:	13.7 KB
ID:	761132  
Old 09-11-2007, 01:37 PM
Dr1Driver

Default RE: Balsa Wood Quality

Mike,

That's pretty bad, but is to be expected. The balsa tree (a hardwood, despite the softness of it) is a slow-growing tree and has a LOT of internal stresses. When cut, the straightest piece can warp, twist, or bend badly, as you've seen. Although most balsa suppliers try to give us good wood, unless you're paying them to hand-pick it, the occasional bad piece will slip through. You could try Sig or Midwest, but it's the same story there, and more expensive.

I'd overlook it unless it becomes a habit and it's more than just one piece.

BTW, thanks for putting GOOD wood in your kits, us builders really appreciate that.

Dr.1