Community
Search
Notices
Scratch Building, Aircraft Design, 3D/CAD If you are starting/building a project from scratch or want to discuss design, CAD or even share 3D design images this is the place. Q&A's.

Getting Your Plans Printed

Search this Thread

Old 09-29-2008, 05:37 AM
smcouch77

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Getting Your Plans Printed

I'm fairly new to CAD drawing. I have used Model Cad to draw plans for a 1/3 scale SE5a. Where do I take these to be printed. All of the print shops I have tried want to convert them to PDF first and then print them. The problem is that they can't seem to get the prints to the exact size. Some one has to know how to work with CAD files.
Steve
Old 09-29-2008, 05:52 AM
bps
My Feedback: (3)

Default RE: Getting Your Plans Printed

Draw a vertical and horizontal ruler on the plans in one corner. Save the entire drawing file .pdf on your computer and print out drawing at full size positioning the drawing in the ruler corner of the drawing in print preview. Leave the tile unchecked or you will print the entire drawing on your printer at the printer's paper size. Rescale the drawing to print the ruler the correct size, save and reprint to verify your scale. Have the printer first print out this corner of the plans for correct size before reprinting, you have done the sizing work for the printer but they will need to verify ruler size before printing the entire plans set. This should solve your sizing problem. The printer just does not want to have to do this extra step or his program is sizing the drawing to paper printer output size. This should not be an issue for him. Hope this helps.
Old 09-29-2008, 09:04 AM
LSF2298
My Feedback: (4)

Have you tried a Blueprint shop? They usually have a large photocopier which will give you 1:1 results.
Old 09-29-2008, 09:56 AM
CrateCruncher
My Feedback: (1)

ORIGINAL: LSF2298

Have you tried a Blueprint shop? They usually have a large photocopier which will give you 1:1 results.