Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Scratch Building, Aircraft Design, 3D/CAD
Reload this Page >

Almost Perfection - Scratch Build

Community
Search
Notices
Scratch Building, Aircraft Design, 3D/CAD If you are starting/building a project from scratch or want to discuss design, CAD or even share 3D design images this is the place. Q&A's.

Almost Perfection - Scratch Build

Search this Thread

Old 10-22-2008, 04:58 PM
qinamil

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Almost Perfection - Scratch Build

Hello everyone,

I have been a long time reader of the great things you all do here. I have learned alot of tricks, thanks to all of you for sharing so selfishlessly.

I have been a R/C modeler off and on since 1989. I have always enjoyed the building aspect more than the flying. I have done many, many, many kits over the years but I have never delved into the "scratch" part. I was wondering what to build next when I decided it was time to dive in and do something from scratch. Lots of ideas and "dream" planes ran through my head. Luckily, I came to my senses and decided to do something fairly simple and at the same time utilize some spare "stuff" I had laying around the shop.

One of my all time favorite airplanes to actually fly is known as the Perfection. It was designed by a great guy in the Heart of Texas Model Air Club (Waco, TX) named Jim Smith. It is basically a superior version of the standard Ugly Stick and uses a .40 - .60 size gas engine. So, what I have in mind is to create a miniature version of the Perfection (roughly half the size) and convert it over to electric to install a Park 450 motor I have laying around.

I have drawn everything out using Microsoft Publisher and will attach the file. I have also attached a picture of what the full size perfection looks like.

I hope to document my build process here and eagerly look forward to comments, criticism and ideas.

Edit: Updated the Plans and added the Balsa Cut Sheet, saved as PDF to keep accurate size.