Notices
Scratch Building, Aircraft Design, 3D/CAD If you are starting/building a project from scratch or want to discuss design, CAD or even share 3D design images this is the place. Q&A's.

wood used in ARFs

Old 02-05-2009, 08:00 PM
Campgems

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default wood used in ARFs

A while back, I ran into an article describing the wood used in some ARFs as a balsa replacement. The article gave a link to a site you could buy the wood from. For the life of me, I can't remember the name of this wood, it was a new one to me.

Does anyone have the name for me???

Don
Old 02-05-2009, 08:22 PM
All Day Dan
My Feedback: (5)

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Default RE: wood used in ARFs

Hi Don, Does Lite Ply ring a bell? Are you familiar with it? I have seen it referred to as a balsa wood replacement because it is so light and a little stronger than balsa but it may not be what you are looking for. I've been building models since 1945 and I haven't found anything close to the strength to weight ratio of balsa. If you come up with something, I would certainly like to find out about it. Dan.
Old 02-05-2009, 09:02 PM
dhal22

Received 7 Likes on 7 Posts

what about the wood they use in europe? i can't think of the name at the moment? but it is even used over there to skin wings. the scale builders posting over here use the wood a lot. anybody?
Old 02-05-2009, 09:52 PM
dolanosa

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Obechi?
Old 02-05-2009, 10:47 PM
Campgems

ORIGINAL: dolanosa

Obechi?
Bingo, that was it. Now to try to find a source of 1/16 and 3/32 sheets. So far all I've found is 8/4 stock. Not having a planer, I think my bandsaw will leave it a bit rough.

Don
Old 02-05-2009, 11:16 PM
WALKERS210-RCU
My Feedback: (36)

A very good friend of mine is a retired gentleman that does a lot of wood working as a hobby and a way to pass time. He gave me some COTTONWOOD, he does have planer and is able to cut it to almost any size needed. It is strong and extremely light.