Scratch Building, Aircraft Design, 3D/CAD If you are starting/building a project from scratch or want to discuss design, CAD or even share 3D design images this is the place. Q&A's.

AutoCAD Polyline Length

Reply
Old 02-18-2009, 09:13 PM
  #1
All Day Dan
Thread Starter
 
All Day Dan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: MANHATTAN BEACH, CA
Posts: 4,413
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default AutoCAD Polyline Length

I need help again. Is there a command in AutoCAD to find the length of a polyline? Thanks, Dan.
All Day Dan is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2009, 09:59 PM
  #2
kenlowe
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Hobart, IN
Posts: 15
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: AutoCAD Polyline Length

Quote:
ORIGINAL: DAN REISS

I need help again. Is there a command in AutoCAD to find the length of a polyline? Thanks, Dan.
The LIST command will do what you want. Enter it from the command line or select the icon from the Inquiry toolbar, then select your pline.

Ken
kenlowe is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2009, 10:22 PM
  #3
All Day Dan
Thread Starter
 
All Day Dan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: MANHATTAN BEACH, CA
Posts: 4,413
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: AutoCAD Polyline Length

Thanks Ken. My mistake. I meant after I do a Pedit and then Spline. List will not give me the length. Any help here? Dan.
All Day Dan is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2009, 12:35 AM
  #4
CoosBayLumber
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: San Bernardino Calif
Posts: 3,757
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: AutoCAD Polyline Length

LIST certainly works on my copy of Autocad. Otherwise it is not a whole of full length polyline. Usually the last entry of the LIST will cite the length and area based up a straight line closure.

You can try DISTANCE, or from here to there is so long, but this is a straight line measurement only.

Wm.
CoosBayLumber is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2009, 12:38 AM
  #5
CoosBayLumber
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: San Bernardino Calif
Posts: 3,757
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: AutoCAD Polyline Length

And.... don't use a SPLINE on a airfoil. Wrong item. Read your manual.

Use the older "FIT CURVE" instead, as the line will go through the coordinates and not go around them. Agan see your manual or ask your teacher about the differences.


Wm.
CoosBayLumber is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2009, 11:46 AM
  #6
All Day Dan
Thread Starter
 
All Day Dan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: MANHATTAN BEACH, CA
Posts: 4,413
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: AutoCAD Polyline Length

CoosBay, LIST works until I do a SPLINE or FIT. What I need is the length along the line, not the distance to the end points. I use Spline to smooth out my wing tips or empennage outlines. It usually gets me within a line thickness of the three view I'm tracing over with a polyline. I use Compufoil for the airfoils. You bet I need a teacher. I learned AutoCAD many years ago at work. When I saw how great it was I immediately started to use it for model design. The trouble is that the years have taken their toll and I don't have those brainy kids around me any more to answer my questions. Dan.
All Day Dan is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2009, 12:57 PM
  #7
CoosBayLumber
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: San Bernardino Calif
Posts: 3,757
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: AutoCAD Polyline Length

Problem with SPLINE is that it is based upon a calculation of tangents. If you cut off and end a bit, Autocad then recalculates (automatically) the same line and alters the radaii to fit new tangents. With FIT CURVE, it will instead just be shorter. No recalculation.

FIT CURVE as per Compufoil, also goes exactly through the cordinates as given, not to one side or the other being off just a bit like in SPLINE. I got a No-no message from Eric long time ago, and how to work the endresults.

The LIST option ought to take into account all of the arcs and tangents and then make a quick calculation and report. I also fint the DISTANCE report near useless. As we want to bend thin balsa wood along a curve, not sand away everthing to make a secant fit.

Wm.
CoosBayLumber is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2009, 02:14 PM
  #8
All Day Dan
Thread Starter
 
All Day Dan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: MANHATTAN BEACH, CA
Posts: 4,413
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: AutoCAD Polyline Length

Thanks again, Dan.
All Day Dan is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2009, 01:30 PM
  #9
johnmartin
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Fort MIll, SC
Posts: 8
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: AutoCAD Polyline Length

To find a lot of information about a line, spline, etc, use the properties command. Select the object, right click and choose properties. Works on even FIT and splined plines.

John
johnmartin is offline  
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 03:48 PM.